Skip to:

Renewals

  • Barber registrations expire December 31 each year.  The Board attempts to send renewal notices to barbers, however; it is the barber's responsibility to assure their registration is renewed each year by December 31st. 

  • Failure to renew your registration on time will result in additional fees. Per Minnesota statutes 154.15 subd 2 Failure to renew a barber registration for more than four years results in the requirement to retake the appropriate barber exam to reinstate the registration. The entire exam (written, oral and practical) will be required.

  • Barber shop registrations expire June 30 each year. The Board attempts to send renewal notices to barber shops, however; it is the shop owner's responsibility to assure the registration is renewed each year on or before June 30. Payments are accepted after renewal notices are sent.

  • Failure to renew the barber shop registration in a timely manner will result in additional fees 

  • Reminder: All barbers are required to work in registered barber shops. It is the barber's responsibility to verify registration. All barber shops and barbers are required to display their registration.


NOTE: Per Minnesota Statute you must be registered (licensed) to practice barbering in Minnesota. Practicing with an expired or suspended registration is a violation. Being found practicing without a current registration will result in Administrative Penalty Fees:

154.162 ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES.
The board shall impose and collect the following penalties:
(1) missing or lapsed shop registration discovered upon inspection; penalty imposed 
on shop owner: $500;
(2) unlicensed or unregistered apprentice or registered barber, first occurrence 
discovered upon inspection; penalty imposed on shop owner and unlicensed or 
unregistered individual: $500; and
(3) unlicensed or unregistered apprentice or registered barber, second occurrence 
discovered upon inspection; penalty imposed on shop owner and unlicensed or 
unregistered individual: $1,000.