Skip to:

Commission on Judicial Selection Recommends Third Judicial District Candidates to Governor Dayton

September 05, 2013

ST. PAUL, MN –The Commission on Judicial Selection announced today it is recommending three candidates to Governor Mark Dayton for consideration to fill the current vacancy in Minnesota’s Third Judicial District. This vacancy was created upon the retirement of the Honorable Joseph F. Wieners. This district court judgeship will be chambered at Rochester in Olmsted County in the Third Judicial District.
Richard Jackson: Mr. Jackson is the lead attorney for the Special Prosecution Unit in the Olmsted County Attorney’s Office, overseeing three attorneys and maintaining a caseload primarily of felony level domestic relationship related crimes. He previously was the Houston County Attorney, where he served as the chief prosecutor for the county. Mr. Jackson is an adjunct professor for the Baccalaureate Paralegal Program at Winona State University and a volunteer for Neighbors in Action in La Crescent.
James Martinson: Mr. Martinson is the Chief Deputy of the Olmsted County Attorney’s Office, where he supervises four lead supervising attorneys and maintains a caseload of serious and complex crimes. Previously, Mr. Martinson was the Criminal Division Head in the Olmsted County Attorney’s Office and served in the United States Marine Corps as an Officer and Judge Advocate. Mr. Martinson is a legal advisor to the Southeast Minnesota Narcotics and Gang Task Force and volunteers with the Dorothy Day House.
Kathy Wallace: Ms. Wallace is a Team Lead Attorney with the Criminal Division of the Olmsted County Attorney’s Office, where she supervises a team of attorneys and represents Olmsted County in complex legal matters. Previously, she served as an Assistant County Attorney in Olmsted and Mower Counties, where she practiced primarily in adult criminal prosecution and juvenile delinquency. Ms. Wallace is the co-chair of the Mayo Child and Family Advocacy Center Program Operations Committee and a Whitewater Country Coalition member.
Minnesota’s Third Judicial District consists of Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, and Winona Counties.
An announcement of the appointment will be made following an interview process over the next few weeks.