Skip to:

Commission on Judicial Selection Announces Vacancies in the Eighth Judicial District

June 24, 2013

ST. PAUL, MN –The Commission on Judicial Selection announced today that two judgeship vacancies are occurring in Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District Court. These vacancies were created upon the retirements of the Honorable Kathryn N. Smith and the Honorable Jon Stafsholt. Judge Smith’s seat will be chambered at Willmar in Kandiyohi County and Judge Stafsholt’s seat will be chambered at Glenwood in Pope County.

The Commission is searching for fair, experienced, and civic-minded individuals to serve on the bench and offer their talents and services to Minnesota’s judicial system. The following qualities will be considered for judicial office: integrity, maturity, health (if job related), judicial temperament, legal knowledge, ability, experience, and community service. The application process is now open for these vacancies. 

An individual wishing to apply may request an application by writing to Lee E. Sheehy, Chair of the Commission on Judicial Selection, at 130 State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd, St. Paul, MN 55155, or by contacting Andrew Olson, Appointments Coordinator, via e-mail at A cover letter and resume should also be submitted with the application. Application materials are due by close of business, Monday, July 15, 2013. Interviews are scheduled to be held on Tuesday, July 30, 2013, at the Meeker County Courthouse in Litchfield, Minnesota. 

For inquiries concerning the application process, please contact Andrew Olson at or at (651) 201-3413.