Skip to:

Commission on Judicial Selection Announces Vacancies in the First Judicial District

April 22, 2014

The Commission on Judicial Selection announced today that three judgeship vacancies are occurring in Minnesota’s First Judicial District Court. These vacancies were created upon the retirements of the Honorable Thomas G. McCarthy, the Honorable Richard C. Perkins, and the Honorable Richard G. Spicer. Judge McCarthy’s seat will be chambered at Gaylord in Sibley County, Judge Perkins’ seat will be chambered at Chaska in Carver County, and Judge Spicer’s seat will be chambered at Hastings in Dakota County.

The Commission is searching for fair, experienced, and civic-minded individuals to serve on the bench and offer their talents and services to Minnesota’s judicial system. The following qualities will be considered for judicial office: integrity, maturity, health (if job related), judicial temperament, legal knowledge, ability, experience, and community service. The application process is now open for these vacancies.
An individual wishing to apply may request an application by writing to Lee E. Sheehy, Chair of the Commission on Judicial Selection, at 130 State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd, St. Paul, MN 55155, or by contacting Andrew Olson, Appointments Coordinator, via e-mail at A cover letter and resume should also be submitted with the application. Application materials are due by close of business, Tuesday, May 13, 2014. Interviews are scheduled to be held on Thursday, May 29, 2014, at the Carver County Justice Center in Chaska, Minnesota.
For inquiries concerning the application process, please contact Andrew Olson at or at (651) 201-3413.