Skip to:

Hennepin and Anoka Counties Get Disaster Declaration

June 07, 2011

Areas Now Eligible for Federal Public Assistance

ST. PAUL — Governor Mark Dayton today secured a major federal disaster declaration for Hennepin and Anoka Counties following the May 22 deadly tornado that struck the area.

Preliminary damage assessments revealed $16.33 million in costs and damages.

The declaration includes two categories of aid:

Public Assistance: Assistance to state and local government and certain private non-profit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. This applies within the counties in the disaster area.

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: Assistance to state and local government and certain private nonprofit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards. All counties in the state of Minnesota are eligible to apply for assistance under this program.

The Governor’s request for Individual Assistance is still under review. 

FEMA will fund 75 percent of the approved cost. Eligible work includes debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities, such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas.