Skip to:

Dayton appoints Patricia Milun to Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals

April 07, 2011

Governor Mark Dayton today appointed The Honorable Patricia Milun as Chief Judge of the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals.  She will be replacing Judge Miriam Rykken on the Court, and will be succeeding Judge Thomas Johnson as Chief Judge.  Judge Johnson will continue to serve his term on the Court.  The Court has statewide appellate jurisdiction over all workers’ compensation appeals, and is made up of five judges, appointed by the Governor, who serve a term of six years. 
Judge Milun brings 25 years of experience in Worker’s Compensation law, including 18 years as a Workers’ Compensation Judge.  She began her legal career as a workers’ compensation trial attorney at the law firm of Larsen, Heck, Klimek & Powell, and has also served as a Workers’ Compensation Judge at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, as Chief Judge for the Settlement Division of the Workers’ Compensation Court and as a Worker’s Compensation and Administrative Law Judge in the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings.  Judge Milun holds a B.A. from the College of St. Benedict’s, and a J.D. from William Mitchell College of Law.