Research Advisory Committee

The Research Advisory Committee was formed under the SFRA to address information needs concerning forests with the intent to foster the identification and undertaking of priority forest resources research activities by encouraging:

  • Collaboration between organizations with responsibilities for conducting forest resources research
  • Linkages between researchers in different disciplines in conducting forest resources research
  • Interaction and communication between researchers and practitioners in the development and use of forest resources research

The committee actively supports forestry and forestry-related research projects, and also identifies priority forest research topics that should be studied in order to meet Minnesota's forest-related information needs. Visit our research page for more information on recent activities.


  • Allen Levine - Dean, College of Food, Agriculture and Natural Resource Sciences, University of Minnesota
  • Forrest Boe - Director of Forestry (interim member representing Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Commissioner)
  • John Beebe - Principal Scientist, National Council for Air and Stream Improvement
  • Michael Lalich - Director, Natural Resources Research Institute
  • Kirk Titus - Land Commissioner,Crow Wing County
  • Peter Reich - Regents Professor, University of Minnesota
  • Tom Schmidt (ex officio) - Assistant Director, USDA Forest Service‚Äôs Northern Research Station

Staff Liaisons

Updated 2017-08-11