Resident Closing Agent
Agency contact information:
Commerce, Minnesota Department of
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
Division of Financial Institutions
(651) 539-1548 (fax)
The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
To apply for one of these license types go to Pearson VUE PULSE portal and submit an application electronically.
Begin by selecting "Minnesota" as the state and "Real Estate" as the board. Then select "submit a license application" and follow the necessary steps.
You may also use the PULSE portal to check the status of your application, and after you see that it has been approved, you will be able to print a copy of your own license.
You can also use the PULSE portal to make profile changes and submit license renewal information.
Remember that it is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain their license information through the PULSE portal.
General Application Information for a Closing Agent License
Applicant must successfully complete the required eight-hour prelicensing education course.
If the closing agent meets the requirements to waive the trust account notice, a completed Trust Account Notice Waiver form may be attached to the closing agent application, in place of obtaining a trust account.
See Trust Account Waiver Form.
The Trust Account Notice Waiver Certification form must be faxed to (651) 284-4207 along with a copy of the application confirmation page. The application will not be processed until the appropriate documents are received.
$123.50 (includes fee surcharge)
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
The term of a license is two years, expiring on June 30.
Length of Determination Process:
Other Pertinent Information: