Body Art Establishment
Agency contact information:
Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
(651) 201-5000 | (888) 345-0823 (MN toll free)
Compliance Monitoring Division
Health Occupations Program - Body Art Program
| 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220 | St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 or Health Occupations Program - Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification Program | P.O. Box 64882 | St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 | (651) 201-3839
Contact Info: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) operates programs for disease prevention and control, health promotion, family and community health, environmental health, health care policy, and regulation of health care providers and facilities.
Body Art Memo
Minnesota Body Art Establishment License
Minnesota Body Art Establishment Exemption Application
Guest Artist Application
Minnesota Body Art Technician Application
Body Art Licensing Verification of Credential Form
Minnesota Body Art Temporary Establishment Event Permit Application
Temporary Body Art Technician License Application
Application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Health website at Body Art Applications.
As of January 1, 2011, a body art establishment must be licensed. If the body art establishment is licensed by a municipal or county agency, it may be exempt from the state requirement. The establishment owner/operator must complete and return either an application for licensure or an application for exemption
All initial establishment licenses are issued as "PROVISIONAL". That status will remain in effect until the establishment has been inspected and approved by MDH staff. To help you prepare for inspection, refer to the Body Art Establishment Inspection Checklist. (NOTE: This form is a draft and subject to change. During the inspection process, the inspector will note any deficiencies in the establishment and the establishment will have a specified period of time in which to correct the deficiency. Failure to correct a deficiency may result in the shutdown of the establishment.
Review the Minnesota Body Art Regulation brochure.
Application for Exemption from State Establishment License: No fee
Provisional establishment license: $1,100 including surcharge
Establishment license: $1,100 including surcharge
Temporary establishment permit: $75
Penalty fee for late submission for renewal applications - $75
Initial technician license - $110 including surcharge
Temporary technician license - $110 including surcharge
Initial piercing technician license - $110 including surcharge
Initial dual technician license - $110 including surcharge
Renewal of technician license - $110 including surcharge
Temporary guest artist license - $55 including surcharge
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Establishment license: 3 years
Temporary establishment permit: Effective no more than 21 days
Provisional establishment licenses: Expire when the establishment license is issued. During the provisional period, MDH will conduct an inspection. When MDH determines the establishment meets the license requirements, a regular establishment license will be issued at no additional fee.
Temporary technician license: Annual
Initial technician license / Initial piercing technician license / Initial dual technician license / Renewal of technician license: Biennial
Temporary guest artist license: Effective for no more than 30 days.
Length of Determination Process:
Contact the MN Dept. of Health for further details.
Other Pertinent Information:
As of July 1, 2010, a person under the age of 18 CANNOT get a tattoo in Minnesota—even with consent of their parent or guardian.
As of July 1, 2010, a person under the age of 18 MAY get a piercing. BUT, the person will need parental/guardian consent AND the parent/guardian MUST be present during the procedure. A person under the age of 18 CANNOT get the following, even with consent: nipple piercing, genital piercing, branding, scarification, suspension, subdermal implantation, microdermal, or tongue bifurcation.