License Minnesota

Dentist

Minnesota Board of Dentistry

Agency contact information:

Dentistry, Minnesota Board of
University Park Plaza
2829 University Ave. S.E., Suite 450
Minneapolis, MN 55414
(612) 617-2250 | (888) 240-4762 | (800) 627-3529 (MN Relay Service for Hearing Impaired)
(612) 617-2260(fax)
Licensing Supervisor
Contact Info: joyce.nelson@state.mn.us
(612) 548-2129

Website:

Dentistry, Minnesota Board of

Verification of Minnesota Dental Licensees

Online Services

The Minnesota Board of Dentistry examines, licenses and registers dentists, dental therapists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants and enforces the Minnesota Dental Practices Act.

Requirements:

Licensure by Exam Requirements

1. Graduate from a dental school that is accredited by the American Dental Association's Commission on Accreditation

2. Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination covering the statutes and rules of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry within 5 years prior to application for licensure.

3. Pass, within 5 years prior to application for licensure, the American National Dental Board Examination, parts I and II.

4. Pass, within five years prior to application for licensure, one of the clinical exams administered by:
a. Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS).
b. Board accepts SRTA, CITA, WREB, NERB if passed after 9/25/2009. (If you've passed any of these exams prior to that date, contact the Board office to verify acceptance.
c. National Dental Examining Board (NDEB) of Canada, if
-a graduate of an Accredited Canadian Dental school, or
-a graduate of University of Minnesota, on or after 5/2010.

Must meet all of the above requirements to be eligible to apply for licensure by exam in Minnesota.


Licensure by Credentials Requirements

If you have fulfilled requirements one and two above, but have not fulfilled requirements three and four, you may be eligible for licensure by credentials.

To be eligible for licensure by credentials you must also

1. hold a current license in another state or Canadian Province.

2. have successfully completed a clinical exam for licensure in another state or Canadian Province (Canadian applicants are required to provide an official statement from the National Dental Examining Board of Canada that states they have passed the NDEB Clinical examination), and

3. have been in active practice for 2000 hours of the previous 36 months in another state, Canadian Province, or U.S. government service.

Licensure by credentials involves completing an oral interview and presenting copies of patient records that go before the Credentials Committee of the Board.


Internationally Educated Dentist

International applicants, view requirements or contact the Board office for more information regarding licensure requirements.


Specialty Dentists

Note:

1. A specialty dentist holding a specialty license is limited to practicing in the dentist's designated specialty area. The scope of practice must be defined by each national specialty board recognized by the American Dental Association.

2. A specialty dentist holding a general dentist license is limited to practicing in the dentist's designated specialty area if the dentist has announced a limitation of practice. The scope of practice must be defined by each national specialty board recognized by the American Dental Association.

The Board may grant a specialty license in the following specialty areas of dentistry that are recognized by the American Dental Association. An applicant for a specialty license shall:

(1) Have successfully completed a post-doctoral specialty education program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, or have announced a limitation of practice before 1967;

(2) Have been certified by a specialty examining board approved by the Minnesota Board of Dentistry, or provide evidence of having passed a clinical examination for licensure required for practice in any state or Canadian province, or in the case of oral and maxillofacial surgeons only, have a Minnesota medical license in good standing;

(3) Have been in active practice or a post-doctoral specialty education program or United States government service at least 2,000 hours in the 36 months prior to applying for a specialty license;

(4) If requested by the Board, be interviewed by a committee of the Board, which may include the assistance of specialists in the evaluation process, and satisfactorily respond to questions designed to determine the applicant's knowledge of dental subjects and ability to practice;

(5) If requested by the Board, present complete records on a sample of patients treated by the applicant. The sample must be drawn from patients treated by the applicant during the 36 months preceding the date of application. The number of records shall be established by the board. The records shall be reasonably representative of the treatment typically provided by the applicant;

(6) At Board discretion, pass a board-approved English proficiency test if English is not the applicant's primary language;

(7) Pass all components of the National Dental Board examinations;

(8) Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence examination;

(9) Abide by professional ethical conduct requirements; and

(10) Meet all other requirements prescribed by the Board of Dentistry.


Resident Requirements

Applicant must:

1. Be an enrolled graduate student or student of an accredited advanced dental education program who is not licensed to practice dentistry in Minnesota.

2. Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination.



Full Faculty Requirements

(With a full faculty dentist license dentist may practice privately.)

1. Submit a letter from the Dean or Program Director of an accredited Minnesota dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting program, indicating that applicant holds at least a 50% appointment for the purposes of teaching and research only.

2. Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination covering the statutes and rules of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry within 5 years prior to application for licensure.



Limited Faculty Requirements

( With a limited faculty dentist license you will not be allowed to have an intramural or private practice.)

1. Submit a letter from the Dean or Program Director of an accredited Minnesota dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting program, stating that the applicant is a member of the faculty and practices dentistry within the school or its affiliated teaching facilities.

2. Pass the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination covering the statutes and rules of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry within 5 years prior to application for licensure.


Licensure by Examination

NOTE: There will be two separate fees owed to the Board. 

-The first is the application fee that is indicated on the front page of the application. The application fee is non-refundable and covers the cost of processing the application. 

-The second fee is the initial licensure fee and is also non-refundable and indicated on the front page of the application. This fee covers the period from initial licensure date until applicant reaches first biennial renewal. 

Application Fee - $140
Initial fee - $168
MN.IT (OET) fee - $14
Conscious Sedation Application - $250 (Additional duplicate certificate - $10)
General Anesthesia Certification Application - $250 (Additional duplicate certificate - $10)


Licensure by Credential

NOTE: There will be two separate fees owed to the Board. 

-The first is the application fee that is indicated on the front page of the application. The application fee is non-refundable and covers the cost of processing the application. 

-The second fee is the initial licensure fee and is also non-refundable and indicated on the front page of the application. This fee covers the period from initial licensure date until applicant reaches first biennial renewal.  

Application Fee - $725
Initial fee - $168
MN.IT (OET) fee - $72.50
Conscious Sedation Application - $250 (Additional duplicate certificate - $10)
General Anesthesia Certification Application - $250 (Additional duplicate certificate - $10)


Specialty Licensure

NOTE: There will be two separate fees owed to the Board. 

-The first is the application fee that is indicated on the front page of the application. The application fee is non-refundable and covers the cost of processing the application. 

-The second fee is the initial licensure fee and is also non-refundable and indicated on the front page of the application. This fee covers the period from initial licensure date until applicant reaches first biennial renewal.

Application Fee - $725
Initial fee - $168
MN.IT (OET) fee - $72.50
Conscious Sedation Application - $250 (Additional duplicate certificate - $10) 
General Anesthesia Certification Application - $250 (Additional duplicate certificate - $10)


Resident Dentist

Application Fee - $60.50


Full Faculty Dentist

NOTE: There will be two separate fees owed to the Board. 

-The first is the application fee that is indicated on the front page of the application. The application fee is non-refundable and covers the cost of processing the application. 

-The second fee is the initial licensure fee and is also non-refundable and indicated on the front page of the application. This fee covers the period from initial licensure date until applicant reaches first biennial renewal. 

Application Fee - $146
Initial fee - $168
MN.IT (OET) fee - $14 
Conscious Sedation Application - $250 (Additional duplicate certificate - $10) 
General Anesthesia Certification Application - $250 (Additional duplicate certificate - $10)


Limited Faculty Dentist

NOTE: There will be two separate fees owed to the Board. 

-The first is the application fee that is indicated on the front page of the application. The application fee is non-refundable and covers the cost of processing the application. 

-The second fee is the initial licensure fee and is also non-refundable. This fee covers the period from initial licensure date until applicant reaching first biennial renewal. The Board will inform applicant of this fee once application is reviewed and found to be complete. 

Upon the Board's receipt of the initial licensure fee, applicant will be issued a license number. The Board will notify applicant of this number in writing and will also provide information regarding any other forms needed to file with our Board.

Application Fee - $140
MN.IT (OET) fee - $14 
Conscious Sedation Application - $250 (Additional duplicate certificate - $10) 
General Anesthesia Certification Application - $250 (Additional duplicate certificate - $10)


Fee:

Review the Requirements section for licensure fees.

NOTE: A dentist is not legally licensed until the Board receives and processes the "initial licensure fee".


Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

Must be renewed. Renew biennially.

Limited Faculty and Residents renew annually 7/1 – 6/30.

Length of Determination Process:

Maximum - 10 days. For licensure by credentials, the Credentials Committee of the Board generally meets once every six weeks.

Other Pertinent Information:

See also Minn. Stat. § 150A.01-.21.