License Minnesota

Open Burning Permit

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) offers permits available on line. The permits are currently only offered for burning in an approved burner or burning small piles of vegetative material or for areas less than one acre in size.

Agency contact information:

Natural Resources (DNR), Minnesota Department of
500 Lafayette Rd.
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-6157 | (888) 646-6367 | (651) 296-5484 (TTY) | (800) 657-3929 (TTY)
Division of Forestry -500 Lafayette Rd., Box 44, St. Paul, MN 55155-4044
(866) 533-BURN(2876)

Website:

Burning Permits Information

Statewide fire danger and current burning restrictions

Open Burning Permit Online Service

Contact a local forestry office


DNR Mobile Apps

Social Media Page

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) manages the state's natural resources. Hunting, fishing, state forests and parks, lakes, rivers and streams, boating and water safety, trails, snowmobiling, skiing, education, enforcement, wildlife management, lands and minerals are managed by the DNR.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 88.16
88.17

Forms:

DNR Open Burning Permits

Requirements:

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources offers citizens the option to purchase annual open burning permits online. Permits obtained through this system are valid for the calendar year in which they are purchased, but must be activated each day burning occurs. The fee for this annual open burning permit is $5. After completing the application process and paying the fee, a person will be able to save an electronic copy and will be asked to print the permit at the end of the process. The applicant must have the printed permit with them while conducting a burn. Permits available on line are currently only offered for burning small piles of vegetative material or for burning areas less than one acre in size (about the size of a football field). If a person wants to burn large piles or larger areas, they will need to contact a local forestry office.

Note: A person may not conduct a burn until they have requested activation as instructed on their permit. Applicant may activate on-line during the application process, or by calling 1-866-533-BURN(2876). Activation will only be possible if burning conditions are favorable to allow open burning; The applicant will receive an activation code that must be written on the permit in the space provided. What a person will need before starting the application process

  • Applicant must be the landowner or have written permission of the landowner to burn at the burn site location.
  • Information about the type of burn (piled material, grass field, garden plot etc.)
  • Location of the burn, either an address (E-911 compatible) or the legal description (available on applicant's property tax statement)
  • Credit/Debit card (Mastercard or Visa)
  • Printer - to print the completed permit (applicant must have printed permit with you while conducting their burning operation)
  • A valid email account. An email account is required by the banking system to process applicant's credit card payment. In addition, the email account will allow applicant to reprint a permit at a later date if it is misplaced or destroyed and will save entry time in the future as much of the information applicant needs to enter will be saved in the system.

Review the Approved burner information and Statewide fire danger and current burning restrictions

Fee:

$5

Period of Issuance:

Calendar year in which they are purchased, but must be activated each day burning occurs.