Alcohol and Drug Counselor (ADC) -Temporary Permits
Agency contact information:
Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT), Minnesota Board of
2829 University Ave. S.E., Suite 210
Mpls., MN 55414
(612) 617-2178 | (800) 627-3529 (Hearing/Speech Relay)
Alcohol and Drug Counselor Program
(612) 617-2187 (fax)
Contact Info: Samantha Strehlo
The Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT) exists to protect the public through the regulation of licensed professional counselors (LPCs), licensed professional clinical counselors (LPCCs) and licensed alcohol and drug counselors (LADCs) in the state of Minnesota. Regulation is accomplished through licensure examination and renewal, as well as by the investigation of complaints.
The Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health & Therapy (BBHT) has several application methods for the temporary permit. Listed below are the various methods to apply for an alcohol and drug counseling temporary permit. For each application method, there is a brief description of the requirements needed to be met in order to apply.
Temporary Permit -Method 1
Standard Method (Method 1) -
Minn. Stat. § 148F.035
- Associates degree or the equivalent
- 270 clock hours of alcohol and drug counseling course work
- 880 hours alcohol and drug counseling practicum
Temporary Permit -Method 2
Certification (Method 2) -
Minn. Stat. § 148F.035
-Has a current license or registration
-Is in good standing with no disciplinary actions
Temporary Permit -Method 4
Renewing Lapsed License (Method 4) - Minn. Stat. § 148F.035
- Has held a LADC license in Minnesota
-Submitted other documentation to the Board
Please contact Board office for required materials before applying under this method.
Temporary Permit -Method 5
Renewing Lapsed License (Method 5) - Minn. Stat. § 148F.035
-An exempt person under Minn. Stat. § 148C.11, subd. 1
-Current license in another profession
-Submitted Supervision Plan for 2000 hours of supervised practice
-Associates degree or the equivalent
-270 clock hours of alcohol and drug counseling course work
-880 hour alcohol and drug counseling practicum
Temporary Permit Renewal Information
All temporary permits expire July 31. The renewal application and renewal fee are due in the Board office (received or postmarked) thirty days before the permit expires, July 1. Renewal materials will be mailed at least 60 days before the permit expires to the permit holder's last known address. It is very important that the Board be kept updated with the most current address. The permit holder's failure to receive notice does not relieve the permit holder of the obligation to meet the renewal deadline and other requirements for the temporary permit.
Applications that are not received or postmarked by July 1 will require a late fee.
Renewal materials are not available online. If you do not receive your renewal materials at least 60 days before your permit expires, please contact the Board office.
If you are renewing for the first time, your renewal fee is a prorated fee based on the number of months you have held your temporary permit.
A new chapter of law for alcohol and drug counselors and temporary permit holders went into effect August 1, 2012.
Review the new chapter of law for alcohol and drug counselors and temporary permit holders. The language is only available in the Session Laws at this time. The LADC language is in Article 2.
Review this memo summarizing the changes that was mailed to all current alcohol and drug counselors and temporary permit holders.
OET Licensing Surcharge
Beginning January 1, 2010, a 10% surcharge is being assessed on every new application for licensure received at the BBHT and every license renewal application. The fee is being collected for MN.IT Services (formerly Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)) pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 16E.22. It will be used to fund a State wide electronic licensing system. For alcohol and drug counselors who apply to obtain or renew a license, a surcharge of $29.50 will be assessed to fund MN.IT's project. For licensed professional counselors and licensed professional clinical counselors who apply to obtain or renew a license, a surcharge of $25 will be assessed. To read more about the surcharge, please visit our webpage, titled, OET Licensing Surcharge on New Licenses and License Renewals.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
All temporary permits expire July 31.