Agency contact information:
Over 20,000 physicians are licensed by the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice and the Board also regulates acupuncturists, athletic trainers, physician assistants, respiratory therapists, naturopathic doctors, traditional midwives and professional firms.
Minn. Stats. 147.032
Telemedicine Registration Application
Application forms are available on the Board of Medical Practice website at Apply for a license/Forms.
Requires physicians who are practicing telemedicine and are not licensed to practice medicine in Minnesota to register with the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice.
To be eligible for telemedicine registration:
A physician must be licensed without restriction in the state from which telemedicine services are provided and must not have ever had a license to practice medicine revoked or restricted in any state or jurisdiction.
Review Board of Medical Practice Information:
Application Fee - $100
Registration Fee - $75
Certification Fee - $25
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Registration is renewed annually based on a calendar year.
Other Pertinent Information:
Telemedicine is the practice of medicine as defined in Minn. Stat. §
subd. 1(e) when the physician is not in the physical presence of the patient.