License Minnesota

Tree Care Registry

Minnesota law requires companies and people who remove trees, limbs, branches, brush or shrubs for hire to register with the State of Minnesota.

Agency contact information:

Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
625 N. Robert Street
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 201-6000 | (800) 967-2474 | (800) 627-3529 (TTY)
Plant Protection Division
(651) 201-6611
Contact Info: MDA.TCR@state.mn.us

Website:

Tree Care Registry

Search for registered companies

License Information System (LIS) Lookup a License

Online Licensing & Payment Options

The mission of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 18G.07

Forms:

Tree Care Registration Application 

Information, application form and online registration is available on the MN Dept. of Agriculture website at Tree Care Registry.

Requirements:

CREATION OF REGISTRY

(a) The commissioner shall maintain a list of all persons,
     businesses, and companies that employ persons who
     provide tree care or tree trimming services in Minnesota.
     All commercial tree care providers, tree trimmers, and
     employers that direct employees to remove trees, limbs,
     branches, brush, or shrubs for hire must be registered
     with the commissioner.

(b) Persons or companies who are required to be registered
     under paragraph (a) must register annually by providing
     the following to the commissioner:
      (1) accurate and up-to-date business name, address,
           and telephone number; 
      (2) a complete list of all Minnesota counties in which
           they work; and 
      (3) a nonrefundable fee of $25 for initial application
           or renewing the registration.

(c) All persons and companies required to be registered under
     paragraph (a) must register before conducting the activities
     specified in paragraph (a). Annual registration expires
     December 31, must be renewed annually, and the renewal
     fee remitted by January 1 of the year for which it is issued.
     In addition, a penalty of ten percent of the renewal fee due
     must be charged for each month, that the fee is delinquent
     up to a maximum of 30 percent for any application for
     renewal postmarked after December 31.

The commissioner shall provide registered tree care companies with information and data regarding any existing or potential regulated forest pest infestations within the state.

It is unlawful for a person to advertise or tree trimming services in Minnesota without being registered with the commissioner.

To renew registration contact Licensing Coordinator.

Fee:

$25

The renewal fee must be remitted by January 1 of the year for which it is issued. In addition, a penalty of ten percent of the renewal fee due must be charged for each month, or portion of a month, that the fee is delinquent up to a maximum of 30 percent for any application for renewal postmarked after December 31.

Period of Issuance:

Annual registration expires December 31, must be renewed annually.