Naturopathic Doctor Registry
Agency contact information:
Over 20,000 physicians are licensed by the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice and the Board also regulates acupuncturists, athletic trainers, physician assistants, respiratory therapists, naturopathic doctors, traditional midwives and professional firms.
Forms:Naturopathic Doctor Application Packet
Registered Naturopathic Doctor Practice Act
Application forms and information is available on the Board of Medical Practice website at Apply for a license/Forms.
General requirements for registration. To be eligible for registration, an applicant must:
(1) submit a copy of a diploma from an approved naturopathic medical education program;
(2) have successfully passed the Naturopathic Physicians Licensing Examination, a competency-based national naturopathic licensing examination administered by the North American Board of Naturopathic Examiners or successor agency as recognized by the board; passing scores are determined by the Naturopathic Physicians Licensing Examination.
Registration by endorsement or reciprocity
To be eligible for registration by endorsement or reciprocity, the applicant must hold a current naturopathic license, registration, or certification in another state, Canadian province, the District of Columbia, or territory of the United States, whose standards for licensure, registration, or certification are at least equivalent to those of Minnesota, and must:
(1) have successfully passed either:
(i) the Naturopathic Physicians Licensing Examination; or
(ii) if prior to 1986, the state or provincial naturopathic board
licensing examination required by that regulating state or
(2) An applicant applying for license, registration, or certification by endorsement must be licensed, registered, or certified in another state or Canadian province prior to January 1, 2005, and have completed a 60 hour course and examination in pharmacotherapeutics.
Certification fee - $25
Application fee - $200
Renewal fee - $150
Late fee - $75
Inactive Status fee - $50
Temporary Permit fee - $25
Emeritus fee - $50
All fees are non-refundable.
Proration of fees. The board may prorate the initial annual registration fee. All registrants are required to pay the full fee upon registration renewal.
Penalty fee for late renewals. An application for registration renewal submitted after the deadline must be accompanied by a late fee in addition to the required fees.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Registrations expire annually, calendar year.
Other Pertinent Information:
The registry requirement became effective July 1, 2009.
Contact the board at (612) 617-2130 for more information.