Minnesota Seed Permit
Agency contact information:
Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
625 N. Robert Street
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 201-6000 | (800) 967-2474 | (800) 627-3529 (TTY)
Plant Protection Division
Contact Info: Stephen R. Malone
License Information System (LIS) Lookup a License
The Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) protects the public health and safety regarding food and agricultural products.
Minn. Stats. 21.89
Application for Seed Permit, AG-00744
Application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Agriculture website, MDA Forms section at Application for Seed Permit.
The first person or company to tag and sell seed in Minnesota must have a seed permit. There are three kinds of permits and they are as follows:
1. For sales of 50,000 pounds or less of agricultural seed annually, the person or company who tags the seed needs an annual permit and the fee is $50.
2. For sales of vegetable, flower, and wildflower seed to home gardeners, the person or company who tags the seed needs an annual permit and the fee varies from $50 to $2,000 with the amount of sales.
3. For sales of more than 50,000 pounds of agricultural seed annually, the person or company who tags the seed needs a permanent permit and the application fee is $50. for a person or company with a permanent permit, additional fees are paid on sales which must be reported twice each year and the rates vary with the kind of seed (from $0.063 for wheat to $3.29 for sugar beet for each hundred pounds sold).
Permit application fee are based on the three categories listed in the requirements.
Semiannual tonnage fees, late filing penalty fee - (see Requirements for details).
Period of Issuance:
See requirements for details.
Length of Determination Process:
One day to one week.
Other Pertinent Information:
NOTE: Permits can be revoked by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture for noncompliance with applicable laws and rules. A permit can be canceled at the request of the permit holder.