License Minnesota

Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC)

Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT)

Agency contact information:

Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT), Minnesota Board of
2829 University Ave. S.E., Suite 210
Mpls., MN 55414
(651) 548-2177 | (800) 627-3529 (Hearing/Speech Relay)
(612) 617-2187(fax)
Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC)
(651) 201-2760
Contact Info: patricia.labrocca@state.mn.us

Website:

LPC & LPCC  
 
Online Renewal and Address Change 

License Verification

Supervisor Lookup

Lists of LPCCs and Supervisors




The Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT) exists to protect the public through the regulation of Licensed Professional Counselors (LPCs), Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors (LPCCs) and Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselors (LADCs) in the state of Minnesota. Regulation is accomplished through licensure examination and renewal, as well as by the investigation of complaints.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 148B.50
148B.5301

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 2150.0050 - 2150.7610

Forms:

Application forms are available from the Board or on the Board's website at LPCC Requirements & Applications.

License application, examination, coursework requirements, professional supervision, license reciprocity, scope of practice, and renewal information is available from the Board's website at LPC & LPCC.

Requirements:

Three routes of application for licensure as a LPCC are available

1. General

Licensure Application Method


2. Conversion

Licensure Application Method


3. Reciprocity

Licensure Application Method

General Licensure Application Method:

Minn. Stat. § 148B.5301 LICENSED PROFESSIONAL CLINICAL COUNSELOR.

General requirements. (a) To be licensed as a licensed professional clinical
counselor (LPCC), an applicant must provide satisfactory evidence to the board that the applicant:

(1) is at least 18 years of age;

(2) is of good moral character;

(3) has completed a master's or doctoral degree program in counseling or a related field, as determined by the board based on the criteria in items (i) to (x), that includes a minimum of 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours and a supervised field experience in counseling that is not fewer than 700 hours. The degree must be from a counseling program recognized by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) or from an institution of higher education that is accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). Specific academic course content and training must include coursework in each of the following subject areas: 

   (i) helping relationship, including counseling theory and practice;
   (ii) human growth and development;
   (iii) lifestyle and career development;
   (iv) group dynamics, processes, counseling, and consulting;
   (v) assessment and appraisal;
   (vi) social and cultural foundations, including multicultural issues;
   (vii) principles of etiology, treatment planning, and prevention of mental and emotional disorders and dysfunctional behavior;
   (viii) family counseling and therapy;
   (ix) research and evaluation; and
   (x) professional counseling orientation and ethics; 

 
(4) has demonstrated competence in professional counseling by passing the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE), administered by the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC) and ethical, oral, and situational examinations as prescribed by
the board;

(5) has earned graduate-level semester credits or quarter-credit equivalents in the following clinical content areas as follows:
   (i) six credits in diagnostic assessment for child or adult mental disorders; normative development; and psychopathology, including developmental psychopathology;
   (ii) three credits in clinical treatment planning, with measurable goals;
   (iii) six credits in clinical intervention methods informed by research evidence and community standards of practice;
   (iv) three credits in evaluation methodologies regarding the effectiveness of interventions;
   (v) three credits in professional ethics applied to clinical practice; and
   (vi) three credits in cultural diversity; and

(6) has demonstrated successful completion of 4,000 hours of supervised, post-master's degree professional practice in the delivery of clinical services in the diagnosis and treatment of child and adult mental illnesses and disorders, conducted according to subdivision 2.
(b) If coursework in paragraph (a) was not completed as part of the degree program required by paragraph (a), clause (3), the coursework must be taken and passed for credit, and must be earned from a counseling program or institution that meets the requirements of paragraph (a), clause (3).

Subd. 2. Supervision. (a) To qualify as a LPCC, an applicant must have completed 4,000 hours of post-master's degree supervised professional practice in the delivery of clinical services in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illnesses and disorders in both children and adults. The supervised practice shall be conducted according to the requirements in paragraphs (b) to (e).
(b) The supervision must have been received under a contract that defines clinical practice and supervision from a mental health professional as defined in Minn. Stats. §§ 245.462, subd. 18, clauses (1) to (6), or 245.4871, subd. 27, clauses (1) to (6), or by a board-approved supervisor, who has at least two years of post-licensure experience in the delivery of clinical services in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illnesses and disorders.
(c) The supervision must be obtained at the rate of two hours of supervision per 40 hours of professional practice. The supervision must be evenly distributed over the course of the supervised professional practice. At least 75 percent of the required supervision hours must be received in person. The remaining 25 percent of the required hours may be received by telephone or by audio or audiovisual electronic device. At least 50 percent of the required hours of supervision must be received on an individual basis. The remaining 50 percent may be received in a group setting.
(d) The supervised practice must include at least 1,800 hours of clinical client contact.
(e) The supervised practice must be clinical practice. Supervision includes the observation by the supervisor of the successful application of professional counseling knowledge, skills, an d values in the differential diagnosis and treatment of psychosocial function, disability, or impairment, including addictions and emotional, mental, and behavioral disorders.

Subd. 5. Scope of practice. The scope of practice of a LPCC shall include all those services provided by mental health professionals as defined in sections Minn. Stats. §§ 245.462, subd. 18, and 245.4871, subd. 27.

Subd. 6. Jurisdiction. LPCC's are subject to the board's statutes and rules to the same extent as licensed professional counselors.

Conversion Licensure Application Method (from Minnesota LPC to LPCC):

Minn. Stat. § 148B.5301 LICENSED PROFESSIONAL CLINICAL COUNSELOR.

Subd. 3a. Conversion from licensed professional counselor to licensed professional
clinical counselor. (a) Until August 1, 2014, an individual currently licensed in the state of Minnesota as a licensed professional counselor may convert to a LPCC by providing evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has met the following requirements:

(1) is at least 18 years of age;

(2) is of good moral character;

(3) has a license that is active and in good standing;

(4) has no complaints pending, uncompleted disciplinary orders, or corrective action agreements;

(5) has completed a master's or doctoral degree program in counseling or a related field, as determined by the board, and whose degree was from a counseling program recognized by CACREP or from an institution of higher education that is accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by CHEA;
 
(6) has earned 24 graduate-level semester credits or quarter-credit equivalents in clinical coursework which includes content in the following clinical areas:
   (i) diagnostic assessment for child and adult mental disorders; normative development; and psychopathology, including developmental psychopathology;
   (ii) clinical treatment planning, with measurable goals;
   (iii) clinical intervention methods informed by research evidence and community standards of practice;
   (iv) evaluation methodologies regarding the effectiveness of interventions;
   (v) professional ethics applied to clinical practice; and
   (vi) cultural diversity;

(7) has demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the board, successful completion of 4,000 hours of supervised, post-master's degree professional practice in the delivery of clinical services in the diagnosis and treatment of child and adult mental illnesses and disorders; and

(8) has paid the LPCC application and licensure fees required in Minn. Stat. § 148B.53, subd. 3.
(b) If the coursework in paragraph (a) was not completed as part of the degree program required by paragraph (a), clause (5), the coursework must be taken and passed for credit, and must be earned from a counseling program or institution that meets the requirements in paragraph (a), clause (5).
(c) This subdivision expires August 1, 2014.

Subd. 4. Conversion to licensed professional clinical counselor after August 1, 2014 . An individual licensed in the state of Minnesota as a licensed professional counselor may convert to a LPCC by providing evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has met the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 2, subject to the following:
   (1) the individual's license must be active and in good standing;
   (2) the individual must not have any complaints pending, uncompleted disciplinary orders, or corrective action agreements; and
   (3) the individual has paid the LPCC application and licensure fees required in Minn. Stat. § 148B.53, subd. 3.

Subd. 5. Scope of practice. The scope of practice of a LPCC shall include all those services provided by mental health professionals as defined in Minn. Stats. §§ 245.462, subd. 18, and 245.4871, subd. 27.

Subd. 6. Jurisdiction. LPCC's are subject to the board's statutes and rules to the same extent as licensed professional counselors.


Reciprocity Licensure Application Method (from an active, clinical counselor license in another state to the Minnesota LPCC):

Minn. Stat. § 148B.56 RECIPROCITY.
The board may issue a license to an individual who holds a current license or other credential from another jurisdiction if the board finds that the requirements for that credential are substantially similar to the requirements in Minn. Stats. § 148B.50-.593.


Refer also to the LPCC Licensure links on the LPC & LPCC web page.

Fee:

Initial license application fee for Licensed Professional Counseling (LPC) - $150 

Initial LPC license fee - $250 

Annual active license renewal fee for LPC - $250 or equivalent

Annual inactive license renewal fee for LPC - $125 

Initial license application fee for licensed professional clinical counseling (LPCC) - $150

Initial license fee for LPCC - $250

Annual active license renewal fee for LPCC - $250 or equivalent

Annual inactive license renewal fee for LPCC - $125

License renewal late fee - $100 per month or portion thereof

Copy of Board order or stipulation - $10

Certificate of good standing or license verification - $25

Duplicate certificate fee - $25

Professional firm renewal fee - $25

Sponsor application for approval of a continuing education course - $60

Initial registration fee - $50

Annual registration renewal fee - $25

Approved supervisor application processing fee - $30  


Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

Licenses are issued on the first day of the month following the approval of the application. Licenses must be renewed annually, one day before the license issue anniversary date.


Length of Determination Process:

Not defined. The board will hold incomplete applications open indefinitely.

Other Pertinent Information:

See Minn. Stat. § 148B.50-.593

Continuing Education:

At the completion of the first four years of licensure, every licensee must provide evidence to the board of completion of 12 additional postgraduate semester credit hours in counseling, except that no licensee is required to show evidence of greater than 60 semester hours in counseling subjects over the course of their graduate career.


Examination

The National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) has information about the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Exam (NCMHCE), including study information.


Other Resources:

American Counseling Association (ACA)

Minnesota Counseling Association (MnCA)

Council for Accreditation of Counseling & Related Educational Programs (CACREP)

Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA)

National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC)