License Minnesota

High Pressure Pipefitter (HPP) Journeyman

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI)

Agency contact information:

Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 284-5005 | (800) 342-5354 | (651) 297-4198 (TTY)
Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD)
Licensing and Certification Services
(651) 284-5031 | (651) 297-4198
Contact Info: dli.exam@state.mn.us

Website:

Personal high-pressure piping licensing

High-pressure piping

Lookup and Locate: Online database to search for boilers and pressure vessels and print registration certificates

Check the status of a license/certificate/registration/bond

Online Payment Center


The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) oversees the state's apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards and workers' compensation programs and the Office of Combative Sports.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 326.46

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 5230.0010 - 5230.1270

Forms:

HPP Journeyman and Contractor Exam Application Packet

HPP Business License Application Forms and Packets

HPP Business Renewal Packet 

Application packets are available on the MN Dept. of Labor & Industry (DLI) website, High-pressure piping section at Personal high-pressure piping licensing.

Requirements:

48 months verified pipefitting work experience.

Work experience verification forms.


Fee:

$50

E-Licensing surcharge is in effect


Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

Annual

Length of Determination Process:

One week.

Other Pertinent Information:

Contractor Applications must be made at least 15 days before exam.

Journeyman applications must be made at least 15 days before exam.

A permit is required for construction or installation of all High Pressure Piping (Steam, Hot Water, or Ammonia) mandated in Minn. Stat. § 326.46-.50.

Contact the Department of Labor and Industry for permit filing fee and inspection fee schedules.