License Minnesota

Water Appropriation Irrigation Permit

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)

Agency contact information:

Natural Resources (DNR), Minnesota Department of
500 Lafayette Rd.
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-6157 | (888) 646-6367 | (651) 296-5484 (TTY) | (800) 657-3929 (TTY)
Division of Ecological and Water Resources
-500 Lafayette Rd., Box 25, St. Paul, MN 55155-4032 | (651) 259-5100
(651) 296-1811 (fax)

Website:

Water use permits

MPARS (MNDNR Permitting and Reporting System)


DNR Mobile Apps

Social Media Page


Photobucket Photobucket

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) manages the state's natural resources. Hunting, fishing, state forests and parks, lakes, rivers and streams, boating and water safety, trails, snowmobiling, skiing, education, enforcement, wildlife management, lands and minerals are managed by the DNR.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 103G.271

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 6115.0600 - 6115.0810, 6115.0010

Forms:

Irrigation  

Irrigation Water Appropriation Permit Application Applications are available on the MN Department of Natural Resources (DNR) website, Waters section at Water Appropriation Permit Applications.

See Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) Area Hydrologists list for the area hydrologist for the county in which the project is located.

For more information contact MN Department of Natural Resources (DNR), Division of Ecological and Water Resources at (651) 259-5700.

Requirements:

Contact the DNR, Division of Ecological and Water Resources for details.

Check the MN DNR Waters, Appropriation Permit Program website at Water use permits for more information.

Fee:

Application fee - $150

After-the-fact application fee - $300

Annual water use reporting fee. See fee rates at Water use fee rates.

Period of Issuance:

Ongoing unless specified, but subject to submittal of an annual report of water use and DNR review.

Length of Determination Process:

Varies, dependent on completeness of application and the need for more information. (Local units of government have 30 day review period.)

Other Pertinent Information:

A water appropriation permit is required to appropriate or use waters of the state (ground or surface) except for: domestic use by 25 persons or less and appropriations which do not exceed 10,000 gallons per day and totaling no more than one million gallons per year.