License Minnesota

Wastewater Operator Certification

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA)

Agency contact information:

Pollution Control Agency (MPCA), Minnesota
520 Lafayette Rd. N.
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-6300 or (800) 657-3864
Dianne Navratil
(651) 757-2599
Contact Info: dianne.navratil @state.mn.us

Website:

Wastewater

MPCA Online Services


The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency is responsible for administering environmental permitting, compliance/enforcement, remediation and outreach programs to help Minnesota protect its environment.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 115.71

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 9400.0100 - 9400.1500

Forms:

Exam application

Documentation of training and experience

Requirements:

The requirements are different for the various types of operator certifications, but varies from a minimum of one year experience to eight years of experience. Part of the experience may be substituted with education. Exams are given for Class A, Class B, Class C, and Class D facilities.
Exams are also given for a type S (collection system) wastewater certificate.

Contact Dianne Navratil for the details of the requirements for each certificate.

Fee:

Exam fee - $55

Certification fee (after passing exam) - $45

Renewal fee - $23

Reinstatement fee - $40

Period of Issuance:

Three years.

Length of Determination Process:

This depends on applicant's training history and when the required courses will be offered.