License Minnesota

Traditional Midwife License

Minnesota Board of Medical Practice

Agency contact information:

Medical Practice, Minnesota Board of
2829 University Ave. S.E., Suite 500
Minneapolis, MN 55414-3246
(612) 617-2130
Email
Contact Info: medical.board@state.mn.us

Website:

Medical Practice, Minnesota Board of

Find a Practitioner

Over 14,000 physicians are licensed by the Board of Medical Practice and the Board also regulates acupuncturists, athletic trainers, physical therapists, physician assistants, respiratory care practitioners and professional firms.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 147D

Forms:

Traditional Midwife Application Packet

Application forms are available on the Board of Medical Practice website at Apply for a license/Forms.

Requirements:

General Licensure

To establish eligibility for licensure, an applicant must:

1. be a graduate of an approved education program or
    submit evidence of having completed an apprenticeship;
2. be currently certified by the North American Registry of
    Midwives (NARM) as a certified professional midwife;
3. be currently certified by the American Heart Association
    or the American Red Cross for adult and infant
    cardiopulmonary resuscitation;
4. submit a copy of their medical consultation plan;
5. submit documentation verifying the required practical
    experience.


Licensure by Reciprocity

Applicant must have current and unrestricted license or certificate from another jurisdiction with requirements which meet or exceed Minnesota licensure requirements:

1. be a graduate of an approved education program or
    submit evidence of having completed an apprenticeship;
2. be currently certified by the North American Registry of
    Midwives (NARM) as a certified professional midwife;
3. be currently certified by the American Heart Association
    or the American Red Cross for adult and infant
    cardiopulmonary resuscitation;
4. submit a copy of their medical consultation plan;
5. submit documentation verifying the required practical
    experience. 


Refer to the Board of Medical Practice information:

Traditional Midwife Application Packet

Traditional Midwife Practice Act

Fee:

Certification Fee - $25

Late Fee - $75

Temporary Permit Fee - $75

Midwifery Licensure & Renewal Fee - $100

Inactive Status Fee - $50

Application Fee - $100

Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

Annual based on fiscal year

Length of Determination Process:

2 1/2 months.

Other Pertinent Information:

Must have informed consent prior to providing services to client.