License Minnesota

Telephone Service Certificate of Authority -Local, Long Distance, Alternate Operator Service (AOS)

Minnesota Department of Commerce

Agency contact information:

Commerce, Minnesota Department of
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 539-1500
(651) 539-1547(fax)
Telecommunications Division
Regulatory Information Unit
(651) 539-1530

Website:

Telecommunication Certification


The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 237

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES Chapters 7810., 7811., 7812., 7829.

Forms:


Certificate of Authority Determination

A checklist to help you determine if you need a certificate of authority from the Public Utilities Commission.


Certificate of Authority Application

Coin and Non-Coin Pay Phone Application

Requirements:

Certificate of Authority Determination

A checklist to help you determine if you need a certificate of authority from the Public Utilities Commission.

Certification and Assessments

All telecommunications carriers, telephone companies and service resellers must file an application with the department for a "certificate of authority" to do business in Minnesota. Initial applications must be accompanied by a $570 filing fee. These costs are based on the time required to complete the process. In addition, telecommunications providers pay an annual assessment, based on gross state revenues, imposed on all regulated telecommunications service providers. Contact (651) 296-0391 for more information.

New providers of telecommunications services should understand the steps and data flows involved when a company becomes integrated within the telecommunications industry. Download Network and Routing Resources Educational Document: Intercompany Responsibilities in the Telecommunications Industry for a good explanation. The Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions has additional documents at its website that may be of interest to your company.

Filing Instructions

Certified telecommunication carriers may decide to change or end operations in Minnesota. Listed in this document are instructions for some of the most common filings carriers must submit. Updated May 27, 2010. Download filing instructions here.

Tariff Filing Checklist A checklist for telecommunications carriers submitting tariff filing

Fee:

A filing fee of $570

A quarterly indirect assessment (fee), based on gross intrastate revenues over $5,000, which covers the general costs of regulation.

See Minn. Stats. § 237.74, Subd. 10, and 237.295.

As a regulated telecommunications carrier, in addition to federal, state, and municipal taxes, you are required to assess and collect fees for 911, Telephone Assistance Plan (TAP), and Telecommunications Access Minnesota (TAM). For further information on these fees, visit the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website at  Emergency Communication Networks.

Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

Certificates of Authority remain in effect indefinitely unless surrendered by the holder or revoked by the Commission.

Length of Determination Process:

Typically, 30 to 60 days from the date the application is filed with the MN Department of Commerce and Public Utilities Commission.

Other Pertinent Information:

New applicants may be interested in the steps and data flows involved when a company becomes integrated within the telecommunications industry. The document, Intercompany Responsibilities Within the Telecommunications Industry, developed by NIIF (Network Routing Resources Information Committee) is available on the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS) website, Network Interconnection Interoperability Forum (NIIF) section.

As a regulated telecommunications carrier, in addition to federal, state, and municipal taxes, carriers are required to assess and collect fees for 911, Telephone Assistance Plan (TAP), and Telecommunications Access Minnesota (TAM). For further information on these fees, visit the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website, Emergency Communication Networks.