Technology Systems Contractor
Agency contact information:
Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 284-5005 | (800) 342-5354 | (651) 297-4198 (TTY)
Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD)
Licensing and Certification Services
(651) 284-5031 | (651) 297-4198 (TYY)
Contact Info: Licensing and Certification Services
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) oversees the state's apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards and workers' compensation programs and the Office of Combative Sports.
Minn. Stats. 326.242
MINNESOTA RULES 3800.3520
2014 Technology System Contractor License Application
Certificate of responsible licensed person power limited technician
Licensing information and application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Labor and Industry (DLI) website, Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD), Electrical section at Contractor (business) electrical licensing and Surety bond forms.
View Individual Electrical Licensing or Registration Requirements and Inspection Requirements for the Installation of Technology Systems by Employees of Licensed Electrical Contractors, Technology System Contractors or Employers
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Two years, expires on the last of July of even numbered years.
Length of Determination Process:
Variable, dependent on completed application and whether applications submitted in person or by mail, application is accepted over-the-counter, and if the application is complete and all conditions of licensure are met; the license may be issued immediately.