Subdivided Land Registration
Agency contact information:
The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
Minn. Stats. 83
MINNESOTA RULES 2810.
Contact Department or forms begin at Minn. Rules 2810.9910.
Campground And Timeshare Registration Requirements
It is unlawful to offer or sell a subdivided land (Timeshare) interest or a membership camping contract in Minnesota unless that interest or contract is either registered or exempt from registration.
The law provides consumer protection to purchasers. The requirements of this statute are in addition to any local government requirements. The membership camping practices law is found in Minn. Stat. Chapter 82A of the and the subdivided land law is found in Minn. Stat. Chapter 83 and Minn. Rules 2810.
The forms for subdivided land begin at Minn. Rules 2810.9910.
If you have any questions about registering the land, call (651) 296-6332. If you have questions about licenses for individuals, call (651) 296-6319 or (800) 657-3978.
The filing fee for an application for registration of membership camping contracts is $500.
Fees for an application for registration of subdivided land is $150 for a notification registration, and $400 plus $1 per potential sale with a cap of $3,500 for a qualification registration. The law provides consumer protection to purchasers. The requirements of this statute are in addition to any local government requirements.
Period of Issuance:
Ongoing as long as annual report is filed.
Length of Determination Process:
Applications are reviewed in the ordered received.
Other Pertinent Information:
Professional assistance in preparing applications is advised.