Structural Pest Control Applicator (SPCA)/Company License
Agency contact information:
Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
625 N. Robert Street
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 201-6000 | (800) 967-2474 | (800) 627-3529 (TTY)
Pesticide and Fertilizer Management Division
Licensing and Certification Unit
Contact Info: Xia Moua, State Program Administrator Intermediate
License Information System (LIS) Lookup a License
The mission of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.
Minn. Stats. 18B.32
Application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Agriculture website, Pesticide Applicator Licensing Program section at Structural Pesticide Applicator - New Application and
Structural Pesticide Company - New Application.
See the Dept. of Agriculture Pesticide Applicator License Requirements - Structural Pest Control.
Minnesota issues Journeyman pesticide applicator licenses via reciprocity to applicators from states with equivalent certification and licensing process.
Annual company license application fee - $200 (not refundable)
Annual Agricultural Chemical Response and Reimbursement (ACRRA) surcharge - $33 (applies only to company license) plus $20 surcharge fee
Annual applicator license application fee - $50 (not refundable) plus $5 surcharge fee.
Late fee of 50% of application fee (or $100 for companies, $25 for applicators) is added to the application total due for RENEWAL applications not filed with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture before January 1.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
From date of issuance through December 31.
Length of Determination Process:
Approximately 0-2 weeks.