Retail Food Handler Licenses
Agency contact information:
Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
625 N. Robert Street
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 201-6000 | (800) 967-2474 | (800) 627-3529 (TTY)
Dairy and Food Inspection Division
Contact Info: Dairy and Food Inspection Division
License Information System (LIS) Lookup a License
The mission of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.
Consolidated Food License Application, AG-01302-01 or AG-01301-02 (Mobile Units)
Plan Review information is available on the MN Dept. of Agriculture website at Retail Food Store Sanitation Plan Review Application.
Must meet requirement for distribution, handling, and sale of food.
Fee is based on gross annual food sales or service for the immediate previous license or fiscal year or anticipated future gross annual food sales.
Retail Food Handler and Retail Mobile Food Handler License:
Machines dispensing only nuts (bulk or packaged) pay $10 per vending machine.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
April 1 - March 31 for mobile food concession and retail mobile units. July 1 - June 30 for all other retail establishments.
Length of Determination Process:
Seven days to one month.
Other Pertinent Information:
A booklet titled "Starting a Food Business in Minnesota", available from the Dairy and Food Inspection Division, may be obtained by calling (651) 201-6027 or downloading it from the MN Department of Agriculture website.