License Minnesota

Residential Roofer

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI)

Agency contact information:

Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 284-5005 | (800) 342-5354 | (651) 297-4198 (TTY)
Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD)
Licensing and Certification Services
(651) 284-5034
Contact Info: Licensing and Certification Services

Website:

Roofer licensing

Residential Building Contractor

Check the status of a license/certificate/registration/bond

Online Payment Center


The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) oversees the state's apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards and workers' compensation programs and the Office of Combative Sports.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 326B.802

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 2891.

Forms:

2012-2014 Residential Roofer Renewal Packet

2013-2015 Residential Roofer Renewal Packet 

Certificate of Exemption Application and Renewal Packet

Residential Roofing Contractor License Packet - New License/Business Structure Change 

Background Check Form 

Background Disclosure Form 


License information application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Labor and Industry (DLI) website, Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD), Residential Building Contractors section at Roofer license application and instructions and Surety bond forms.

Requirements:

The following must be submitted for a residential roofer license:

A completed Residential Roofer License Application and all other forms.

  1. The license fee is $220. Note: Fees cannot be prorated for licenses issued for a portion of the license period. The fee is the same no matter when a license is obtained during the license period.
  2. A copy of the Articles of Incorporation, filed and stamped by the Minnesota Secretary of State; the partnership agreement, signed by all partners; or other business organization documents.
  3. A completed Disclosure of Owners, Partners, Officers form, providing names and addresses of all officers, directors, shareholders, partners or employees who exercise management or policy control in the company.
  4. A completed Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Criminal Background Check form for each individual listed on the Disclosure of Owners, Partners, Officers form.
  5. A $15,000 surety bond and power of attorney. The front of the bond must be signed and sealed by the surety company. The front of bond must be signed by the owner of the individual proprietorship, the president of the corporation or a general partner of the partnership. The acknowledgments on the back of the bond must be notarized. The company name listed on the surety bond must be identical to the company name listed on the application.
  6. A copy of the Certificate of Assumed Name, filed and stamped by the Minnesota Secretary of State, if the business name is different from the legal name of the individual, corporation or other business entity. Information about filing for a Certificate of Assumed Name may be obtained from the Secretary of State online at www.sos.state.mn.us; by mail at Retirement Systems of Minnesota Building, 60 Empire Dr., Suite 100, St. Paul, MN 55155; by telephone (651) 296-2803. For example:
    • an individual proprietor who intends to do business using a company name that does not include the individual's first and last name;
    • a name that does not include the first and last name of each individual partner; or
    • a corporation or other business entity that intends to do business under a name that is not the legal corporate name or business entity name.
      • Examples: "John Smith Construction" would not be required to attach a Certificate of Assumed Name if John Smith is the sole owner of the business. However, "Smith's Construction" would be required to attach the certificate, because it does not contain the full first and last name of the owner. Similarly, if a legally incorporated company, "ABC Construction, Inc.," intends to do business as "Acme Construction," the company must attach a Certificate of Assumed Name to the license application. The Certificate of Assumed Name is required to provide information to the public about the true identity of the business owner.
  7. All required Certificates of Insurance. (The legal name and any assumed name must appear in the "Insured Name" section of the certificate.) The "Certificate holder" section of the Certificate of Insurance must indicate: Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155.
    • Liability insurance with limits of at least $300,000 per occurrence, which must include at least $10,000 property damage coverage.
    • Minnesota workers' compensation insurance certificate or a written explanation of why the applicant is exempt from workers' compensation requirements. Applicants who have no employees and have no intention of hiring employees (other than spouse, parent or child) during the next year, should attach a written statement with the license application explaining the specific reason that they are exempt. If applicant is uncertain whether workers' compensation insurance is required for your business, contact the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry at (651) 284-5005.
    • Unemployment insurance or a written explanation of why the applicant is exempt from unemployment insurance requirements. If applicant is uncertain whether unemployment insurance is required, contact the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development at (651) 296-6141.
  8. Attached a completed Qualifying Person Designation form.  Each licensee must designate an individual to act as the qualifying person for the licensee.  This individual must have passed a pre-licensing exam administered by DLI.  Examination results expire after two years. The qualifying person must be the chief executive officer of the corporation, the general partner of the partnership, the chief manager of the LLC or a managing employee who is regularly employed by the applicant and is actively engaged in the business of residential contracting or residential remodeling on behalf of the applicant.

Also, refer to the Dept. of Labor & Industry information in regards to License requirements for residential roofing and View Residential Roofer Exam Information


Fee:

License fee - $200

Certificate of Exemption - $15 


e-Licensing surcharge is in effect


Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

See Minn. Stat. § 326B.802-.885.

The license period for residential building contractors, remodelers and roofers is April 1 through March 31 each year. All licenses expire March 31 of each year, even if the license was issued for only a part of the license period. To maintain an active license, all licenses must be renewed by March 31 each year, whether the license was issued for all or a portion of the license period.

Length of Determination Process:

30 days.

Other Pertinent Information:

See Minn. Stat. § 326B.802-.885.

The licensing program requires only companies to obtain a license (therefore, in the case of an individual, the license is issued to an "individual proprietorship"). Each company, however, must designate one individual who will serve as a "Qualifying Person" regardless of whether the licensee is an individual proprietorship, partnership or corporation. The Qualifying Person is the individual who must take the required examination and fulfill the continuing education requirements for the licensee.

Also review the DLI information, Construction Contractor Registration.

Refer also to the Roofing contractor regulations and homeowner protections.