Residential Mortgage Education Course Approval
Agency contact information:
Commerce, Minnesota Department of
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
Division of Financial Institutions
(651) 282-9855 | (800) 657-3978
(651) 296-8591 (fax)
Contact Info: Robin Brown
The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
Minn. Stats. 45
Applications and forms are available on the MN Dept. of Commerce website, Licensees, Education for Providers & Coordinators section at
Important licensing changes take effect July 1, 2010
Review licensing changes
Details and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about licensing changes for real estate brokers and salespersons, appraisers, insurance producers and adjusters, prelicensing and continuing education providers.
Course Approval Applications
See this information from the MN Dept. of Commerce:
Requirements and application forms for obtaining pre-license education, continuing education, subsequent offerings, and course renewals.
Application fee is $10 for each hour or fraction of an hour applied for.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.