License Minnesota

Real Estate Salesperson; Real Estate Broker

Minnesota Department of Commerce

Agency contact information:

Commerce, Minnesota Department of
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 539-1500
(651) 539-1547(fax)
Licensing Unit
(651) 539-1599 | (800) 657-3978 (MN only, outside Metro area)
(651) 539-0107 (fax)
Contact Info: licensing.commerce@state.mn.us

Website:

Broker License

Real Estate

License Lookup Directory


The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 82

Forms:

Electronic application at Pearson VUE PULSE portal

Requirements:

Apply for a Broker License

Resident and Nonresident Salesperson License
To apply for one of these license types go to Pearson VUE PULSE portal and submit an application electronically.

To submit a resident or nonresident real estate broker license, a licensed real estate company must login to the portal and use its account to submit the application. After selecting "Minnesota Department of Commerce" as the program and "Real Estate" as the board, click on "Submit a Resident License Application" or "Submit a Non-Resident License Application" and follow the necessary steps. After the application has been approved, you can make profile changes, print your own license, and process your own renewals. Please remember that it is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain license information through the PULSE portal.

RESIDENTS

1. The license fee is $210. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. The term of a broker license is two years, expiring on June 30.

2. Through June 30, 2011, an applicant must have at least 2 years of licensed real estate salesperson experience in Minnesota or another state with comparable requirements within the 5 years prior to the date of application for the broker's examination. On July 1, 2011, the requirement by law increased to at least 3 years of licensed real estate salesperson experience in Minnesota or another state with comparable requirements within the 5 years prior to the date of application for the broker's examination. If this experience was obtained in a capacity not requiring a Minnesota real estate license, sporadically in Minnesota over the past 5-year period, or in another state, you must first submit a Request for Waiver of Salesperson Experience to sit for Broker Exam form. 

3. Applicants who wish to be considered for a waiver of the salesperson experience requirement must submit this form to the Commerce Department and receive approval prior to taking the broker exam. If the waiver is approved, attach copy of the Department approval letter with the broker application.3. Applicants who wish to be considered for an additional broker's license must submit an additional Broker's License Request to the Commerce Department. Fax a copy of the Department approval letter and a copy of your application confirmation page (printed from PULSE portal) to "Real Estate Licensing" at (651) 284-4207.

Remember : A broker must first apply for a business entity license (unless he or she is going to be affiliated with an active Minnesota licenses real estate company).


Information for a Non-Resident Applicant with an active license in a Reciprocal State
* Must reside in and hold an active broker license in a Reciprocal State: Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

1. The license fee is $210. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. The term of a broker license is two years, expiring on June 30. 

2. After submitting an electronic application, you must also fax a Letter of Certification (no more than 90 days old) documenting that you are currently licensed as a broker and reside in Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, or Wisconsin.

3. Applicants with an active Wisconsin license must also fax course completion certificates documenting completion of a Minnesota broker course of at least 13 hours and must fax original passing results for the Minnesota State Laws portion of the written examination (get exam information on our website). The written exam cannot be more than one year old at the time of application for licensure. Applicants with active Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, or South Dakota license are not required to submit this information. The Licensing real estate fax number is (651) 284-4207.

Remember: A broker must first apply for a business entity license (unless he or she is going to be affiliated with an active Minnesota licenses reas estate company).

Information for a Non-Resident Applicant with an active license in a Non-Reciprocal State

  1. Applicants with an active license in a non-reciprocal state must comply with Minnesota broker license requirements. The license fee is $210. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. The term of a broker license is two years, expiring on June 30.
  2. If your license is currently active at the time of application, you must fax your original passing exam results for the Minnesota State Laws portion of the exam. (You do not need to include the original passing exam results for the National portion of the exam.)

  3. If your license is inactive at the time of application, you must fax your original passing exam results for both National and State laws portion of the exam. The Licensing real estate fax number is (651) 284-4207.

Fee:

Broker license fee - $210

Salesperson license fee - $135 plus vendor processing fees


Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology (OET) sponsored and the Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to OET, which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

2 years, expiring on June 30th.

Length of Determination Process:

30 days.

Other Pertinent Information:

A Salesperson must be licensed to act on behalf of a licensed Minnesota Broker.

The license of each Salesperson shall be mailed to and remain in the possession of the licensed Minnesota Broker with whom the Salesperson is affiliated until the Salesperson ends affiliation with the Broker.