License Minnesota

Real Property Appraisers -Various

Minnesota Department of Commerce

Agency contact information:

Commerce, Minnesota Department of
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 539-1500
(651) 539-1547(fax)
Licensing Unit
(651) 539-1599 | (800) 657-3978 (MN only, outside Metro area)
(651) 539-0114 (fax)
Contact Info: licensing.commerce@state.mn.us

Website:

Appraiser Licensing

Real Estate

License Lookup Directory


The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 82B

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 2808.0100 - 2808.7100

Forms:

More information and forms regarding individual licensing is available online at Appraiser License - Individual License.

Requirements:

Apply for Individual Appraiser License 

  • Trainee Real Property Appraiser

    1. Complete the license application online at  www.pulseportal.com
    2. Seventy-five (75) hours of Minnesota-approved pre-licensing appraiser education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course, must be completed prior to submitting the application. A list of the required core curriculum courses and hours is available on the Commerce website. Effective January 1, 2015, all qualifying education must be completed within the five-year period prior to the date of submission of the application.
    3. Effective January 1, 2015, in addition to the 75 hours of prelicense courses mentioned above, the six-hour "Minnesota Supervisor/Trainee Appraiser Course" must be completed prior to submitting the application.
    4. A list of approved pre-license education Sponsors is available on the Commerce website.
    5. Continuing education courses are not accepted for pre-licensing hours. Pre-licensing education must be completed prior to taking an appraiser license examination.
    6. Appraiser license examination results cannot be more than 24 months old at the time of your application for a license.
    7. After completing your online application, you must e-mail documentation of your pre-license education and original passing results for the Trainee Real Property Appraiser examination to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. Please put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
    8. A Trainee Real Property Appraiser licensee cannot perform appraisals for federally-related transactions.

  • Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser

    1. Complete the license application online at www.pulseportal.com .
    2. The total fee includes the $80 National Registry fee imposed by the federal Appraisal Subcommittee.
    3. One hundred fifty (150) hours of Minnesota-approved pre-licensing appraiser education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course, must be completed prior to submitting the application. A list of the required core curriculum courses and hours is available on the Commerce website. If you hold a valid Trainee Real Property Appraiser license, this requirement is reduced by 75 hours, but you must complete the remaining specific core curriculum courses and hours listed in Minnesota Statutes 82B. In addition, effective January 1, 2015, the applicant must possess an associate degree or higher from an accredited college or university, or must present satisfactory documentation of successful completion of 30 semester credit hours of instruction from an accredited college or university.
    4. A list of approved pre-license education Sponsors is available on the Commerce website.
    5. Continuing education courses are not accepted for pre-licensing hours. Pre-licensing education and experience requirements must be completed prior to taking an appraiser license examination.
    6. An applicant for licensing as a licensed residential real property appraiser must submit evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the person has obtained 2,000 hours of experience in real property appraisal obtained in no fewer than 12 months.
    7. Appraiser license examination results cannot be more than 24 months old at the time of your application for a license.
    8. After completing your online application, you must e-mail documentation of your pre-license education, original passing results for the Licensed Real Property Appraiser examination, and a completed Experience Verification Form documenting 2,000 hours of licensed appraiser experience to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. Please put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
    9. A Licensed Real Property Appraiser licensee may perform appraisals for federally-related transactions.

  • Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser license requirements

    1. Complete the license application online at www.pulseportal.com .
    2. The total fee includes the $80 National Registry fee imposed by the federal Appraisal Subcommittee.
    3. Two hundred (200) total hours of Minnesota-approved pre-licensing appraiser education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course, must be completed prior to submitting the application. A list of the required core curriculum courses and hours is available on the Commerce website. If you hold a valid Trainee or Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser license, this requirement is reduced (by 75 hours for Trainee and by 150 hours for Licensed Residential), but you must complete the remaining specific core curriculum courses and hours listed in Minn. Stat. § 82B. In addition, for applications received on or before December 31, 2014, the applicant must either possess an associate degree from an accredited college or university, or present satisfactory documentation of completion of 21 semester credit hours from an accredited college or university covering the following subject matter courses: English composition; principles of economics (micro or macro); finance; algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics; statistics; computer science; and business or real estate law. NOTE: for applications received on or before December 31, 2014, if the applicant completed the required 200 hours of Minnesota-approved pre-licensing appraiser education before January 1, 2008, no college degree is required. Effective January 1, 2015, the applicant must possess a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university.
    4. A list of approved pre-license education Sponsors is available on the Commerce website. Continuing education courses are not accepted for pre-licensing hours. Pre-licensing education and experience requirements must be completed prior to taking an appraiser license examination.
    5. An applicant for licensing as a certified residential real property appraiser must submit evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the person has obtained 2,500 hours of experience in real property appraisal obtained in no fewer than 24 months.
    6. Appraiser license examination results cannot be more than 24 months old at the time of your application for a license.
    7. After completing your online application, you must e-mail documentation of your pre-license education, original passing results for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser examination, and a completed Experience Verification Form documenting 2,500 hours of licensed appraiser experience to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. Please remember to put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
    8. A Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser licensee may perform appraisals for federally related transactions.

  • Certified General Real Property Appraiser license requirements

    1. Complete the license application online at www.pulseportal.com .
    2. The total fee includes the $80 National Registry fee imposed by the Appraisal Subcommittee.
    3. Three hundred (300) total hours of Minnesota-approved pre-licensing appraiser education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course, must be completed prior to submitting the application. A list of the required core curriculum courses and hours is available on the Commerce website. If you hold a valid Trainee, Licensed Residential, or Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser license, this requirement is reduced (by 75 hours for Trainee, by 150 hours for Licensed Residential, and by 200 hours for Certified Residential), but you must complete the remaining specific core curriculum courses and hours listed in Minn. Stat. 82B. In addition, for applications received on or before December 31, 2014, the applicant must also possess a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university or present satisfactory documentation of completion of 30 semester credit hours from an accredited college or university covering the following subject matters courses: English composition; micro economics; macro economics; finance; algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics; statistics; computer science; business or real estate law; and two elective courses in accounting, geography, ag-economics, business management, or real estate. NOTE: for applications received on or before December 31, 2014,if the applicant completed the required 300 hours of Minnesota-approved pre-licensing appraiser education before January 1, 2008, no college degree is required. Effective January 1, 2015, the applicant must possess a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university.
    4. A list of approved pre-license education Sponsors is available on the Commerce website. Continuing education courses are not accepted for pre-licensing hours. Pre-licensing education and experience requirements must be completed prior to taking an appraiser license examination.
    5. An applicant for licensing as a certified general real property appraiser must submit evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the person has obtained 3,000 hours of experience in real property appraisal obtained in no fewer than 30 months.
    6. Appraiser license examination results cannot be more than 24 months old at the time of your application for a license.
    7. After completing your online application, you must e-mail documentation of your pre-license education, original passing results for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser examination, and a completed Experience Verification Form documenting 3,000 hours of licensed appraiser experience (with at least 50 percent, or 1500 hours, in nonresidential appraisal work) to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. Please remember to put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
    8. A Certified General Real Property Appraiser licensee may perform appraisals for federally-related transactions.

  • Temporary Practice Appraiser license requirements

    1. Complete the license application online at www.pulseportal.com .
    2. The total fee includes a 10% MN.IT surcharge, which is being collected on behalf of Minnesota Information Technology (MN.IT) to fund a statewide electronic licensing system.
    3. You must e-mail your Temporary Practice Appraisal Assignment form documenting the properties to be appraised to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us.
    4. A temporary practice appraiser license is valid for the lesser of (a) the time required to complete the assignment, or (b) 12 months. If more than 12 months is necessary to complete the assignment, a new temporary application and fee is required.
    5. A Temporary Practice Appraiser license is only valid for a single appraisal assignment within Minnesota; a single appraisal assignment may include one or more properties under one contract for a single client.
    6. A Temporary Practice Appraiser license can only be issued if the assignment property is part of a federally-related transaction.
    7. "Federally-related transaction" means any real estate-related financial transaction that a federal financial institutions regulatory agency or the federal Resolution Trust Corporation engages in, contracts for, or regulates; and that requires the services of a licensed or certified real estate appraiser.

Applying For a Nonresident Appraiser License
This section pertains only to nonresidents who do not reside in the following reciprocal states: Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Missouri, New Hampshire, Ohio, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wyoming.

Forms:

Temporary Practice Appraisal Application and Assignment

AP-9 Appraiser CE Report Form

Appraiser Experience Verification Log & Form

Appraiser Pre-License Ed Verification


Trainee Real Property Appraiser

Trainee Real Property Appraiser license level applicants must complete all Minnesota education and exam licensing requirements for the Trainee level.

1. Complete the license application.

Licensed Residential, Certified Residential, and Certified General Real Property Appraiser

  1. Complete a license application.
  2. Submit one of the following: (a) a letter from your home state indicating that the appraiser licensing entity in that state has reviewed your work experience within the last five years; or (b) a completed Minnesota Appraiser Experience Verification Log & Form showing six months of experience.

  3. Identify the state in which you currently hold a Certified General or Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser license.

  4. You do not need to include your education as part of your online application.


Applying For a Reciprocal Appraiser License

Trainee Real Property Appraiser

Reciprocal agreements to not apply to the Trainee Real Property Appraiser license level. Applicants for the Trainee level license must complete all Minnesota licensing requirements for the Trainee level.

Certified General Real Property Appraiser, Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser, and Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser

  1. Complete a license application.
  2. To take advantage of reciprocal terms, you must currently reside in a reciprocal state (Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Missouri, New Hampshire, Ohio, South Dakota, West Virginia, or Wyoming) and hold an active license in that state at the time that the Minnesota application is submitted.

  3. You do not need to include your education and experience verification as part of your online application. You simply need to identify the state in which you currently hold a Certified Residential or Certified General Real Property Appraiser license.

 
Reactivate Appraiser License

  • Trainee Real Property Appraiser  

    1. Complete the license application  at www.pulseportal.com.
    2. A $150 appraiser license fee must be submitted (this does not include the Federal Registry fee because this license does not authorize the licensee to perform appraisals for federally related transactions).
    3. If your license has been expired for less than 2 years, reactivation requires successful completion of all outstanding continuing education hours that would have been required if the license was in an active status, including the required most recent edition of a 7-hour National USPAP Update Course.
    4. If your license has been expired for more than 2 years, you must meet current hourly requirements for experience and pre-license education, and must attach original passing results, no more than two years old, for the appropriate level Appraiser examination.  

  • Licensed Residential, Certified Residential, or Certified General Real Property Appraiser     

Upgrade Appraiser Overview

 IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING LICENSE UPGRADES

Changes to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria take effect on January 1, 2015. In order to upgrade your license under the current criteria, you must be fully compliant with all upgrade requirements and your license upgrade application must be COMPLETE and RECEIVED by the Minnesota Department of Commerce ON OR BEFORE DECEMBER 31, 2014.

If a license upgrade application received by December 31, 2014, is found to be incomplete when it is reviewed, or if you are not fully compliant with all upgrade requirements at the time the Commerce Department receives it, then it will not be approved, and you will need to meet ALL of the prelicense education, college credit hours/college degree, examination, and experience requirements that will take effect on January 1, 2015, in order to upgrade from one license class to another.

A license upgrade application received on or after January 1, 2015, will be reviewed under the new criteria, and you will need to meet ALL of the prelicense education, college credit hours/college degree, examination, and experience requirements in effect on January 1, 2015, in order to upgrade from one license class to another on or after that date.

A summary of the new requirements is available at https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/sd2f26fafefe402ab .

  • Upgrade from Trainee to Licensed Residential

    1. Complete the license application online at www.pulseportal.com .
    2. A $230 license fee must be submitted with your upgrade application if the upgraded license term is greater than 12 months (this includes a $80 Federal Registry fee that was not previously paid with the Trainee Appraiser license), plus $20 technology surcharge.
    3. A $190 license fee must be submitted with your upgrade application if the upgraded license term is less than 12 months (this includes a $40 Federal Registry fee that was not previously paid with the Trainee Appraiser license), plus $20 technology surcharge.
    4. Complete the Pre-Licensing Education Verification form and attach course completion certificates documenting 150 hours of Minnesota approved pre-licensing appraiser education, including the National 15-hour USPAP Course. A list of the required core curriculum courses and hours is available on the Commerce website. In addition, effective January 1, 2015, you must submit an official college or university transcript to document either that you possess an associate degree or higher from an accredited college or university, or that you have successfully completed 30 semester credit hours of instruction from an accredited college or university. Education must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination.
    5. Attach the completed Experience Verification Log and Form documenting 2,000 hours of licensed appraiser experience. Experience may not have been obtained in less than 12 months and must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination
    6. Attach original passing results for the Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser examination. An appraiser exam cannot be more than 24 months old at the time of application.
    7. After completing your online application, you must e-mail the documentation of your pre-license education, original passing results for the Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser examination, and a completed Experience Verification Form documenting 2,000 hours of licensed appraiser experience to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. Please put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
    8. A Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser licensee may perform appraisals for federally-related transactions.
    9. A change in the appraiser license level during the license period does not change the continuing education due date. The renewal/expiration date of the upgraded license remains the same as the previous license renewal/expiration date.

  • Upgrade from Trainee to Certified Residential

    1. Complete the license application online at www.pulseportal.com .
    2. A $230 license fee must be submitted with your upgrade application if the upgraded license term is greater than 12 months (this includes a $80 Federal Registry fee that was not previously paid with the Trainee Appraiser license), plus $20 technology surcharge.
    3. A $190 license fee must be submitted with your upgrade application if the upgraded license term is less than 12 months (includes a $40 Federal Registry fee that was not previously paid with the Trainee Appraiser license), plus $20 technology surcharge.
    4. Complete the Pre-Licensing Education Verification form and attach course completion certificates documenting 200 hours of Minnesota approved pre-licensing appraiser education, including the National 15-hour USPAP Course. A list of the required core curriculum courses and hours is available on the Commerce website. In addition, for applications received on or before December 31, 2014, you must also have an associate degree from an accredited college or university, or you must present satisfactory documentation of completion of 21 semester credit hours from an accredited college or university covering the following subject matter courses: English composition; principles of economics (micro or macro); finance; algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics; statistics; computer science; and business or real estate law. Education must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination. Effective January 1, 2015, you must submit an official college or university transcript to document that you possess a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university.
    5. Attach the completed Experience Verification Log and Form documenting 2,500 hours of licensed appraiser experience. Experience may not have been obtained in less than 24 months and must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination.
    6. Attach original passing results for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser examination. An appraiser exam cannot be more than 24 months old at the time of application.
    7. After completing your online application, you must e-mail the documentation of your pre-license education, original passing results for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser examination, and a completed Experience Verification Form documenting 2,500 hours of licensed appraiser experience to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. Please put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
    8. A change in the appraiser license level during the license period does not change the continuing education due date. The renewal/expiration date of the upgraded license remains the same as the previous license renewal/expiration date.

  • Upgrade from Trainee to Certified General

    1. Complete the license application online at www.pulseportal.com .
    2. A $230 license fee must be submitted with your upgrade application if the upgraded license term is greater than 12 months (this includes a $80 Federal Registry fee that was not previously paid with the Trainee Appraiser license), plus $20 technology surcharge.
    3. A $190 license fee must be submitted with your upgrade application if the upgraded license term is less than 12 months (includes $40 Federal Registry fee that was not previously paid with the Trainee Appraiser license), plus $20 technology surcharge.
    4. Complete the Pre-Licensing Education Verification form and attach course completion certificates documenting 300 hours of Minnesota approved pre-licensing appraiser education, including the National 15-hour USPAP Course. A list of the required core curriculum courses and hours is available on the Commerce website. In addition, for applications received on or before December 31, 2014,you must also have a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, or you must present satisfactory documentation of completion of 30 semester credit hours from an accredited college or university covering the following subject matters courses: English composition; micro economics; macro economics; finance; algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics; statistics; computer science; and business or real estate law; and two elective courses in accounting, geography, ag-economics, business management, or real estate. Education must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination. Effective January 1, 2015, you must submit an official college or university transcript to document that you possess a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university.
    5. Attach the completed Experience Verification Log and Form documenting 3,000 hours of licensed appraiser experience. Experience must be no more than 50% residential. Experience may not have been obtained in less than 30 months and must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination.
    6. Attach original passing results for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser examination. An appraiser exam cannot be more than 24 months old at the time of application will also come into play.
    7. After completing your online application, you must e-mail the documentation of your pre-license education, original passing results for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser examination, and a completed Experience Verification Form documenting 3,000 hours of licensed appraiser experience to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. Please put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
    8. A change in the appraiser license level during the license period does not change the continuing education due date. The renewal/expiration date of the upgraded license remains the same as the previous license renewal/expiration date.

  • Upgrade from Licensed Residential to Certified Residential

    1. Complete the license application online at www.pulseportal.com .
    2. A $150 license fee must be submitted with your upgrade application (a Federal Registry fee is not required because it was previously paid with the Licensed Residential Appraiser license), plus a $20 technology surcharge.
    3. Complete the Pre-Licensing Education Verification form and attach Course Completion Certificates documenting 200 hours of Minnesota approved pre-licensing appraiser education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course. A list of the required core curriculum courses and hours is available on the Commerce website. In addition, for applications received on or before December 31, 2014,you must also have an associate degree from an accredited college or university, or you must present satisfactory documentation of completion of 21 semester credit hours from an accredited college or university covering the following subject matter courses: English composition; principles of economics (micro or macro); finance; algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics; statistics; computer science; and introduction and business or real estate law. Education must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination. Effective January 1, 2015, you must submit an official college or university transcript to document that you possess a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university.
    4. Attach the completed Experience Verification Log and Form documenting 2,500 hours of licensed appraiser experience. Experience may not have been obtained in less than 24 months and must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination.
    5. Attach original passing results for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser examination. An appraiser exam cannot be more than 24 months old at the time of application.
    6. After completing your online application, you must e-mail the documentation of your pre-license education, original passing results for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser examination, and a completed Experience Verification Form documenting 2,500 hours of licensed appraiser experience to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. Please put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
    7. A change in the appraiser license level during the license period does not change the continuing education due date. The renewal/expiration date of the upgraded license remains the same as the previous license renewal/expiration date.

  • Upgrade from Licensed Residential to Certified General

    1. Complete the license application online at www.pulseportal.com .
    2. A $150 license fee must be submitted with your upgrade application (a Federal Registry fee is not required because it was previously paid with the Licensed Residential Appraiser license), plus $20 technology surcharge.
    3. Complete the Pre-Licensing Education Verification form and attach course completion certificates documenting 300 hours of Minnesota approved pre-licensing appraiser education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course. A list of the required core curriculum courses and hours is available on the Commerce website. In addition, for applications received on or before December 31, 2014, you must also have a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, or you must present satisfactory documentation of completion of 30 semester credit hours from an accredited college or university covering the following subject matters courses: English composition; micro economics; macro economics; finance; algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics; statistics; computer science; business or real estate law; and two elective courses in accounting, geography, ag-economics, business management, or real estate. Education must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination. Effective January 1, 2015, you must submit an official college or university transcript to document that you possess a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university.
    4. Attach the completed Experience Verification Log and Form documenting 3000 hours of licensed appraiser experience. Experience must be no more than 50% residential. Experience may not have been obtained in less than 30 months and must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination.
    5. Attach original passing results for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser examination. An appraiser exam cannot be more than 24 months old at the time of application.
    6. After completing your online application, you must e-mail the documentation of your pre-license education, original passing results for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser examination, and a completed Experience Verification Form documenting 3,000 hours of licensed appraiser experience to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. Please put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
    7. A change in the appraiser license level during the license period does not change the continuing education due date. The renewal/expiration date of the upgraded license remains the same as the previous license renewal/expiration date.

  • Upgrade from Certified Residential to Certified General

    1. Complete the license application online at www.pulseportal.com .
    2. A $150 license fee must be submitted with your upgrade application (a Federal Registry fee is not required because it was previously paid with the Certified Residential Appraiser license), plus $20 technology surcharge.
    3. Complete the Pre-Licensing Education Verification form and attach course completion certificates documenting 300 hours of Minnesota approved pre-licensing appraiser education, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course. A list of the required core curriculum courses and hours is available on the Commerce website. In addition, for applications received on or before December 31, 2014,you must also have a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, or you must present satisfactory documentation of completion of 30 semester credit hours from an accredited college or university covering the following subject matters courses: English composition; micro economics; macro economics; finance; algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics; statistics; computer science; business or real estate law; and two elective courses in accounting, geography, ag-economics, business management, or real estate. Education must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination. Effective January 1, 2015, you must submit an official college or university transcript to document that you possess a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university.
    4. Attach the completed Experience Verification Log and Form documenting 3,000 hours of licensed appraiser experience. Experience must be no more than 50% residential. Experience may not have been obtained in less than 30 months and must be completed prior to taking the appraiser license examination.
    5. Attach original passing results for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser examination. An appraiser exam cannot be more than 24 months old at the time of application.
    6. After completing your online application, you must e-mail the documentation of your pre-license education, original passing results for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser examination, and a completed Experience Verification Form documenting 3,000 hours of licensed appraiser experience to the Department of Commerce at licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. Please put "Appraiser Licensing" in the subject field.
    7. A change in the appraiser license level during the license period does not change the continuing education due date. The renewal/expiration date of the upgraded license remains the same as the previous license renewal/expiration date.

Who Needs an Individual License

Minn. Stat. § 82B.03 Prohibitions
Subdivision 1. License required.

  1. It is unlawful for a person to act as a real estate appraiser in this state unless licensed under this chapter.
  2. Only persons licensed under this chapter may advertise or represent themselves to be real estate appraisers.

  3. No person, other than a licensed real estate appraiser, may assume or use that title or a title, designation, or abbreviation likely to create the impression of licensure as a real estate appraiser by this state.

Subd. 2. License not required.

  1. An officer or employee of a corporation, partnership, or other business entity may act as a real estate appraiser without obtaining a license under this chapter if the corporation, partnership, or other business entity in which the person is employed or is an officer has an interest in the real estate that is the subject of the appraisal as owners, lenders, investors, or insurers.
  2. Notwithstanding licensure under this chapter, any appraisal conducted by a person exempt under this subdivision is only subject to the guidelines for real estate appraisal policies and review procedures of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Office of Thrift Supervision, the Federal Reserve Board, the Farm Credit Administration, the National Credit Union Administration, or the comptroller of the currency, if the appraisal was conducted only within the scope and purpose of this subdivision.

  3. If a real estate appraisal is made by a person who is exempt from licensing under this subdivision, the person for whom the appraisal is conducted must be given written notice that the appraisal was not conducted by a licensed appraiser, and the appraisal report must clearly state that it was conducted by an interested party and not by a licensed real estate appraiser.

Minn. Stat. § 82B.035 Exemption.
Subd. 1. Market analysis. This chapter does not apply to a licensed real estate salesperson or broker who, in the ordinary course of the licensee's business, gives a market analysis of the price of real estate, if the market analysis is not referred to or construed as an appraisal.

Subd. 2. Assessors. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as requiring the licensing of persons employed and acting in their capacity as assessors for political subdivisions of the state and performing duties enumerated in Minn. Stat. § 273.061, subd. 7 or 8.

Subd. 3. Geologists or engineers. This chapter does not apply to an appraisal, analysis, opinion, or conclusion as to the value of oil, gas, coal, and other mineral resources performed by an engineer registered as provided in Minn. Stat. § 326.02-.15 or by a certified professional geologist, unless the appraisal, analysis, opinion, or conclusion of value is performed in connection with a federally related transaction subject to the requirements of United States Code, title 12, section 3331, et seq., the federal Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989.

Subd. 4. Department of revenue. This chapter does not require persons employed by, or under contract to, the Department of Revenue to be licensed in order to perform, conduct, or assist in, an appraisal done within the scope of their employment or contract duties.

Minn. Stat. § 82B.11 Classes of license.
Subdivision 1. Generally there are five classes of license for real estate appraisers.

Subd. 2. Trainee real property appraiser. When a net income capitalization analysis is not required by the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice, a trainee real property appraiser may appraise residential real property or agricultural property.

Subd. 3. Licensed residential real property appraiser. A licensed residential real property appraiser may appraise noncomplex residential property or agricultural property having a transaction value less than $1,000,000 and complex residential or agricultural property having a transaction value less than $250,000.

Subd. 4. Certified residential real property appraiser. A certified residential real property appraiser may appraise residential property or agricultural property without regard to transaction value or complexity.

Subd. 5. Certified general real property appraiser. A certified general real property appraiser may appraise all types of real property.

Subd. 6. Temporary practice. The commissioner shall issue a license for temporary practice as a real estate appraiser under subdivision 3, 4, or 5 to a person certified or licensed by another state if:

  1. the property to be appraised is part of a federally related transaction and the person is licensed to appraise property limited to the same transaction value or complexity provided in subdivision 3, 4, or 5;
  2. the appraiser's business is of a temporary nature; and

  3. the appraiser registers with the commissioner to obtain a temporary license before conducting appraisals within the state.

Fee:

Trainee Real Property Appraiser license fee - $150 (does not include Federal Registry Fee. This license does not authorize the licensee to perform appraisals for federally related transactions).

Licensed Real Property Appraiser fee - $200; includes Federal Registry Fee ($40 per year).

Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser license fee - $230; includes Federal Registry Fee ($40 per year).
Certified General Real Property Appraiser license fee - $230; includes Federal Registry Fee ($40 per year).
.........................

Plus Technology surcharge - $30 per initial license and renewal.


LICENSE UPGRADE FEES:
> If license is upgraded before the expiration date of current license, the upgraded license will have the same expiration date as the current license. The Federal Registry fee is prorated if there are less than 12 months remaining until the expiration date of the current license.

UPGRADE CATEGORY
> If upgraded license term is greater than 12 months:
-From Trainee to Licensed - $230; includes Federal Registry Fee ($40 per year)
-From Trainee to Certified Residential - $230; includes Federal Registry Fee ($40 per year)
-From Trainee to Certified General - $230; includes Federal Registry Fee ($40 per year)
-From Licensed to Certified Residential - $180 
-From Licensed to Certified General - $180
-From Certified Residential to Certified General - $180
.........................

Plus Technology surcharge - $30 per upgrade application.


> If upgraded license term is less than 12 months:
-From Trainee to Licensed - $205; includes Federal Registry Fee ($40 per year)
-From Trainee to Certified Residential - $205; includes Federal Registry Fee ($40 per year)
-From Trainee to Certified General - $205; includes Federal Registry Fee ($40 per year)
-From Licensed to Certified Residential - $180
-From Licensed to Certified General - $180
-From Certified Residential to Certified General - $180
.........................

Plus Technology surcharge - $30 per upgrade application.


Temporary Practice Appraiser license fee - $150


Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

2 years.

Length of Determination Process:

30 days.