Private Career School License
Agency contact information:
School Licensure and Registration
The Minnesota Office of Higher Education is a cabinet-level state agency providing students with financial aid programs and information to help them gain access to postsecondary education. The agency serves as the state's clearinghouse for data, research and analysis on postsecondary enrollment, financial aid, finance and trends.
A student records that are protected and accessible to former students (Locations of closed schools' records) a statutory refund policy.
A sufficient finances.
An appropriate faculty.
Accurate and useful information about programs, tuition and fees, admissions, evaluation, dismissal and refunds.
New School License Fee
Schools that will offer no more than one program its first year - $2,500
Schools that will offer more than one program its first year - $2,500 + $500 per additional program
School License Renewal Fee for category (A) schools
Schools offering one program - $1,150
two or more
Programs - $1,150 + $200 per additional program. Maximum annual licensing fee of $2,000
Solicitor Permit Fee - Per Solicitor $350
Multiple Location(s) - Location(s) 2-5 $250 per site
- Location(s) 6 or more $100 per site
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination Process:
2 to 3 months
Other Pertinent Information:
Most private career schools offering vocational programs and courses and/or non-degree granting programs in Minnesota must be licensed with the MN Office of Higher Education. A licensed institution must have OHE approval to use the terms "college," "university," "programs," in its name. Private Career School Act, Minn. § Stat. § 141.20-.35.
More information is on the MN Office of Higher Education website, under Private Career School Licensure.