License Minnesota

Physical Therapist Assistant License

Minnesota State Board of Physical Therapy

Agency contact information:

Physical Therapy, Minnesota State Board of
2829 University Ave SE Suite 420
Mpls., MN 55414
(612) 627-5406
(612) 627-5403 (fax)
Email
Contact Info: Physical.therapy@state.mn.us

Website:

Physical Therapy, Minnesota Board of

Look up a license

The Minnesota State Board of Physical Therapy serves to ensure that Minnesota citizens receive appropriate physical therapy services from competent physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. Public protection is accomplished through licensing and disciplining of physical therapists and physical therapist assistants.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 148.65

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 5601.0100 - 5601.3200

Forms:

PTA Instructions New Graduate

PTA Instructions for Licensed in another State

PTA Application Form


Application and instructions for Physical Therapist Assistant License is available on the MN Board of Physical Therapy website at Applicants, PTA Licensure.

Requirements:

Graduate of an approved program in physical therapist assistant.

Examination

A complete list of requirements in application and instruction forms are available on the Board website.

Fee:

  • License application by a new PT/PTA graduate $244.75
    • Application = $100
    • Annual License = $60
    • Criminal Background Check = $34.75
    • Exam = $50

  • License Application by a PT/PTA licensed in another state $194.75
    • Application = $100
    • Annual License = $60
    • Criminal Background Check = $34.75

  • License Application by foreign educated PT $194.75-$269.75 (Must submit paper application)
    • Application = $100
    • Annual License = $60
    • Criminal Background Check = $34.75
    • Temporary permit fee = $25, required for the 6 month supervised traineeship
    • Exam = $50 required if applicant does not already have a passing score on the exam

  • Temporary Permit application form and fee ($25) may be submitted with the initial application or at any time during the application process. Temporary permit will only be accepted in conjunction with initial application.

  • NPTE exam dates and exam information can be located at: www.fsbpt.org

  • The Exam fee ($50) must be paid for each exam attempt. To retake the exam you must mail the exam fee ($50 - check or money order) to the Board office.

 

Period of Issuance:

Annual, based on a calendar year.

Length of Determination Process:

1 to 3 weeks.

Other Pertinent Information:

See Minn. Stat. § 148.65-.78

See Minn. Rules 5601.0100-.3200.

See also the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), for more information regarding the national examination program.