Pharmacy Technician Registration
Agency contact information:
The Minnesota Board of Pharmacy enforces rules dealing with drug distribution by drug manufacturers, wholesalers, pharmacies, physicians, dentists, and other practitioners. The board issues all licenses dealing with pharmacists and pharmacies. The board administers the states controlled substance prescription monitoring program.
Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician
Applications are available on the Board website at Licensing and Registration.
Must be at least 18 year of age.
Contact the Board for other requirements, which will be changing in 2013.
Pharmacy Technician Training Requirement Information
Effective January 1, 2014, the Board will not renew the registration of a pharmacy technician who was initially registered after January 1, 2013, or who was initially registered prior to that date but did not maintain continuous registration, unless the individual has completed a pharmacy technician training program. There are several types of training that will be acceptable, one of which is an employer-based program that includes a minimum of 240 hours in a one-year period of both theoretical and practical instruction. Standards for employer-based training programs were adopted by the Board at the June 20, 2012 meeting and were published in the July 2012 edition of this Newsletter.
The Board subsequently received a request from Pharmacist’s Letter to allow one of their programs, Pharmacy Technicians University (PTU), to be used as part of an employer-based program for technician training. The Board approved that request at its August 1, 2012 meeting. Consequently, pharmacies may use PTU as the didactic or written portion of an employer-based training program but must also ensure that technicians complete practical, experiential training.
Technicians who initially register after January 1, 2013, are responsible for completing the required training in the allotted amount of time. Those who do not complete the training will not be permitted to renew their registrations and will therefore not be allowed to continue working as technicians. It is the responsibility of the pharmacist-in-charge to ensure that all individuals working in a pharmacy who are required to be registered or licensed have current licenses and registrations.
Original Registration and annual renewal fee - $30 + $5 OET surcharge = $35 total
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
January 1 - December 31 annually.
Length of Determination Process:
Approximately two weeks.