Permit to Carry
Agency contact information:
Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
445 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 201-7000 | (651) 282-6555 (TTY)
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA)
1430 Maryland Ave. East, St. Paul, MN 55106 | (651) 793-7000 (24 Hours)
Contact Info: bca.permittocarry @state.mn.us
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Minn. Stats. 624.714
Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application Permit to Carry a Pistol
Applications will be available at the county sheriff's office and on the MN Dept. of Public Safety website, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) section, at Minnesota Personal Protection Act / Permit to Carry a Pistol
Application must be submitted to a Minnesota county sheriff in person.
County Sheriff's Offices
Minn. Stat. § 624.714 allows qualified individuals to obtain a permit to carry a pistol in the state. Permits are issued by all county sheriffs in Minnesota.
For Minnesota residents, individuals may obtain permits to carry a pistol by submitting an application and other related documentation to the sheriff in the county where the applicant resides. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff.
-Must be at least 21 years of age.
-Must complete an application form.
-Must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm.
-Must not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system.
-Must be a resident of the county from which you are
requesting a permit if you reside in Minnesota.
Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff and provide the sheriff with either the I-551 or I-151 card that has been issued.
-Must provide certificate of completed authorized firearms training.
Training by a certified instructor and completed within one year
prior to applying for a permit to carry.
Emergency permits may be issued by the sheriff if he/she determines that the person is in an emergency situation that may constitute an immediate risk to the safety of the person or someone residing in the person's household.
Any applicant who does not meet the criteria as listed in above is not eligible for a permit to carry a pistol. The sheriff may also deny the application if there is a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to himself/herself or others if issued a permit to carry.
Permit holder must have the permit card and a driver's license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the permit card and identification document when requested by a peace officer.
The fee for a permit to carry will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $100.
Updated permit fee - $10
Period of Issuance:
Other Pertinent Information:
Business Organizations Approved to Train Instructors - alphabetical list
The BCA does not publish a list of firearm instructors on the BCA website. The Minnesota Sheriff's Association has volunteered to list the instructors on its website, once the instructional organizations provide them with the updated list.