Occupational Therapy (OT) Practitioner / Occupational Therapy Assistant (OTA) Licenses
Agency contact information:
Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
(651) 201-5000 | (888) 345-0823 (MN toll free)
Division of Compliance Monitoring
Health Occupations Program - Occupational Therapy Licensing | 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220 | St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 or Health Occupations Program | P.O. Box 64882 | St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 | 651-201-3725 | email@example.com
Health Occupations Program - Occupational Therapy Assistant Licensing| 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220 | St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 or Health Occupations Program | P.O. Box 64882 | St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 | 651-201-3724 | firstname.lastname@example.org
The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) operates programs for disease prevention and control, health promotion, family and community health, environmental health, health care policy, and regulation of health care providers and facilities.
Minn. Stats. 148.6401
Application for Licensing as an Occupational Therapist or Occupational Therapy Assistant
Application for Temporary License: New Graduate
Application for Temporary License: Persons Credentialed by National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, Inc. (NBCOT) or Other States
NBCOT Verification Form
Verification of Credential
Occupational Therapy Practitioner Continuing Education Record
Application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Health website, Health Occupations Program section at Application Instructions and Forms.
Licensing system provides practice and title restrictions for Occupational Therapists (OT) and Occupational Therapy Assistants (OTA). To be eligible for licensing, an individual must have completed all academic and fieldwork requirements from an accredited institution and achieved a qualifying score on the national credentialing examination for OT/OTA.
Renewal of licensing requires documentation of continuing education.
See Minn. Stat. § 148.6401-.6450.
June - $160
July - $160
August - $160
September - $160
October - $121
November - $121
December - $160
January - $160
February - $160
March - $160
April - $160
May - $160
Occupational Therapy Assistant
June - $110
July - $110
August - $110
September - $88
October - $88
November - $88
December - $88
January - $88
February - $88
March - $66
April - $66
May - $66
*License fee contains electronic licensing surcharge.
Temporary License Fee for New Graduate - $50
Temporary License Fee for Those Credentialed by NBCOT or Other States - $50
Fee for Verification of Minnesota Licensure to Other State Agencies - $25
Fee for Verification of Licensure to Institutions - $10
Duplicate License Wallet Card Fee - $25
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination Process:
30 days, average.
Other Pertinent Information:
See Minn. Stat. § 148.6401-.6450.
National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, Inc. (NBCOT)
American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)
Minnesota Occupational Therapy Association (MOTA)