Agency contact information:
Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
(651) 201-5000 | (888) 345-0823 (MN toll free)
Compliance Monitoring Division
Licensing and Certification Program
P.O. Box 64900, 85 East 7th Place, Ste. 220, St. Paul, MN 55164-0900 | (651) 201-4101
Contact Info: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) operates programs for disease prevention and control, health promotion, family and community health, environmental health, health care policy, and regulation of health care providers and facilities.
Minn. Stats. 144A.01
Minnesota Rules 4658.
Application for License to Operate a Nursing Home
Applications are available on the MN Dept. of Health (MDH) website, MN Health Care Facilities Programs section at Nursing Home Licensure.
A new nursing home must meet a moratorium exception under Minn. Stat. § 144A.071 in order to receive an initial license.
A nursing home provides nursing care to 5 or more persons and must operate & provide services in compliance with all applicable federal, state and local laws, regulations and codes.
Base fee - $183, plus $91 per licensed bed.
There is also an additional $5 per licensed bed fee for nursing home resident advisory councils.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
One year from effective date.
Length of Determination Process:
Application should be submitted at least 90 days before the requested date for licensure. See Minn. Rule 4658.0025
Other Pertinent Information:
Licenses are renewed on an annual basis.
An annual statistical report is required to be submitted online by December 31st of each year.
Licenses are not transferable.