Noncommercial Pesticide Applicator License
Agency contact information:
Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
625 N. Robert Street
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 201-6000 | (800) 967-2474 | (800) 627-3529 (TTY)
Pesticide and Fertilizer Management Division
Licensing and Certification Unit
Contact Info: Xia Moua, State Program Administrator (Intermediate)
License Information System (LIS) Lookup a License
The mission of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.
Minn. Stats. 18B.34
Application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Agriculture website, Pesticide and Fertilizer Management Division section at New Application for Commercial/Noncommercial Pesticide Applicator.
An individual that is not a licensed commercial pesticide applicator, certified private applicator, or structural pest control applicator, but intends to apply restricted use pesticides in Minnesota in the performance of his or her job duties must be licensed as a noncommercial pesticide applicator.
See the MN Dept. of Agriculture Pesticide Applicator Initial License and Renewal Requirements.
See Pesticide Applicator License Requirements, Reciprocal.
Annual license application fee of $50 for applicants. $10 for government applicants (not refundable).
Annual Agricultural Chemical Response and Reimbursement (ACRRA) surcharge of $25. No ACCRA charge for government applicants.
Late fee of 50% of the application fee is added to the application total if RENEWAL applications are not received by the MN Department of Agriculture by March 1, plus $5 surcharge fee.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
From date of issuance through December 31.
Length of Determination Process:
Approximately 0-3 weeks.
Other Pertinent Information:
Pesticide Control Law: Minn. Stat. § 18B.01-.39.