Drive-Away / In-transit License
Agency contact information:
Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
445 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 201-7000 | (651) 282-6555 (TTY)
445 Minnesota St., Suite 186, St. Paul, MN 55101-5186 | (651) 296-2977 | (651) 282-6555 (TTY)
(651) 297-1480 (fax)
Contact Info: DVS.Dealerquestion @state.mn.us
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Minn. Stats. 168.053
Application for Minnesota Drive-away In Transit/Insurance Endorsement PS2408-07
Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance (Minn. Stat. § 168.054) as verified by a certified insurance policy endorsement form.
Contact the Dealer Unit for full information.
Business License Fee, Annual (includes one Drive-away plate) - $285
Filing fee - $10
Plate Fees - $15 each
e-Licensing fee - $25
All fees may be subject to an additional fees. Contact the Dealer Unit for fee information.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Twelve month license issued for calendar year - always expiring December 31.
Other Pertinent Information:
There is no reciprocity with other states' transporter licenses.
For additional information, contact:
Driver and Vehicle Services
445 Minnesota St., Suite 186
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 282-6555 (TTY)