License Minnesota

Malt Beverage Importer's License

Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS)

Agency contact information:

Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
445 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 201-7000 | (651) 282-6555 (TTY)
Alcohol & Gambling Enforcement Division
445 Minnesota St., Suite 222, St. Paul, MN 55101-2156 | (651) 201-7500 | (651) 282-6555 (TTY)
(651) 297-5259 (fax)

Website:

Alcohol & Gambling Enforcement Division

Liquor License Database

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 340A.302

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 7515.0920

Forms:

Application for Malt Beverage Importer's License

Application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Public Safety website, Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement section at Forms/Documents.

Requirements:

Completed application.

Must not have ownership interest in a Minnesota retail license holder.

Must be 21 years of age, of good moral character and reputation, not having a liquor license application with the past 5 years revoked, not have been convicted of a felony or willful violation of a federal or state liquor law within 5 years of the license application.

Fee:

Fee - $1,600 + $150 fee surcharge

Brand registration for each label -New - $40

Brand registration for each label -Renewal - $30


Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

Annual one year from date of issuance.

Length of Determination Process:

3-5 days.

Other Pertinent Information:

See Minn. Stat. § 340A for more information.