License Minnesota

Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

Minnesota Board of Nursing

Agency contact information:

Nursing, Minnesota Board of
2829 University Avenue S.E., Suite 200
Minneapolis, MN 55414
(612) 617-2270 | (888) 234-2690 (MN, IA, ND, SD, WI) | (800) 627-3529 (Hearing/Speech Relay)
(612) 617-2190 (fax)
Email
Contact Info: nursing.board @state.mn.us

Website:

Nursing, Minnesota Board of

Verify a license

Verify a permit

Online Services

The Minnesota Board of Nursing is a regulatory agency whose services include licensing, discipline and program approval, education relevant to the needs of the public and to the education and practice of nurses and disseminating information to nurses and the public.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 148.171
148.211
148.212

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 6305. and 6310.

Forms:

Review the Board information for Applicants and

Apply for a license -By Endorsement -By Exam


Application forms are available by contacting nursingboard@state.mn.us.



Requirements:

Requirements by examination (Minn. Rules 6305)
* Application
* Examination
* Evidence of graduation from an approved nursing program
* Additional requirements for applicants not educated in the United States.


Requirements without examination (interstate endorsement) (Minn. Rules 6305)
* Application 
* Evidence of graduation from an approved nursing program
* Credentials evaluation report (non-U.S. educated)
* Evidence of passing the NCLEX examination
* Evidence of licensure in another U.S. jurisdiction
* Evidence of employment as an LPN
* Evidence of continuing education if no nursing employment within two years of application.


Requirements for Registration Renewal (Minn. Rules 6310)
* Application
* Affirming statement of continuing education.
* Renewal every two years after initial registration.

The Board offers many online services including application for licensure, licensure renewal, licensure verification, data services and address change, view Online Services

Fee:

Licensure by exam fee - $105

Licensure by interstate endorsement fee - $105

Renewal fee - $85 

Re-registration fee - $105 

Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

Two years registration after the initial registration.

Length of Determination Process:

1-3 days upon receipt of required documents.

Other Pertinent Information:

See also Minn Stats. §§ :
148.171 Definitions
148.211 Licensing
148.212 Temporary permit
148.231 Registration

Temporary permit for licensure by interstate endorsement is available, there is no permit fee. The application for licensure, licensure fee, and copy of a current license from another United States jurisdiction must be received by the Board. The permit is issued for a period of 60 days.

Renewal of Registration for RN and LPN (Minn. Stat. § 148.231, Minn. Rules 6310)

At the time of licensure, the licensee is granted registration. The period of registration varies based on when the individual is licensed and registered and the individual's date of birth. This initial registration may vary between 6 and 29 months.