License Minnesota

Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC)

Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT)

Agency contact information:

Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT), Minnesota Board of
2829 University Ave. S.E., Suite 210
Mpls., MN 55414
(651) 548-2177 | (800) 627-3529 (Hearing/Speech Relay)
(612) 617-2187(fax)
Alcohol and Drug Counselor (ADC) Program
(651) 201-2758
(612) 617-2187 (fax)
Contact Info: Samantha Strehlo
(651) 201-2758
(612) 617-2187(fax)

Website:

LADC & Temporary Permit

Online Renewal and Address Change 

License Verification

Supervisor Lookup

The Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT) exists to protect the public through the regulation of Licensed Professional Counselors (LPCs), Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors (LPCCs) and Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselors (LADCs) in the state of Minnesota. Regulation is accomplished through licensure examination and renewal, as well as by the investigation of complaints.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 148F

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 4747.0010 - 4747.1500

Forms:

Application for License as Alcohol & Drug Counselor

Application forms and temporary permit forms are available from the Board office or on the Board website at LADC Requirements and Application.

Requirements:

Application Methods and Requirements

Method D-Standard Method (Minn. Stat. § 148F.025, subd. 1, 2, 3(1) and 2(i))

  • Bachelor's Degree
  • 270 clock hours of specific alcohol and drug counseling course work
  • 880 hour alcohol and drug counseling practicum
  • Passing score on written comprehensive exam OR
  • Passing score on written and oral exam

Method I-Supervision Alternative (Minn. Stat. § 148F.025, subd. 1, 2, 3(1) and 2(ii))

  • Bachelor's Degree
  • 270 clock hours of specific alcohol and drug counseling course work
  • 880 hour alcohol and drug counseling practicum
  • Passing score on written exam (not comprehensive exam)
  • 2,000 hours of supervised professional practice acceptable to the board

All of the educational requirements (degree, course work, and practicum) listed in Methods D and I must be completed through an accredited school.


Method F-Reciprocity
 (Minn. Stat. § 148F.03)

The board shall issue a license if the board finds that the requirements which the applicant met to obtain the credential from the other jurisdiction were substantially similar to the current requirements for licensure in this chapter and that the applicant is not otherwise disqualified under Minn. Stat. § 148F.09.

  • Active license or certification an alcohol and drug counselor from another jurisdiction
  • Applicants must submit:
  • Copy of the jurisdiction's credentialing laws and rules that were in effect at the time the applicant obtained the credential
  • Verification that the license or certification is active and in good standing. The verification must be sent directly to the Board office from the licensing board/credentialing agency


  • Specific Course Work Requirements

  • (i) an overview of the transdisciplinary foundations of alcohol and drug counseling, including theories of chemical dependency, the continuum of care, and the process of change;

    (ii) pharmacology of substance abuse disorders and the dynamics of addiction, including medication-assisted therapy;

    (iii) professional and ethical responsibilities;

    (iv) multicultural aspects of chemical dependency;

    (v) co-occurring disorders; and
     
    (vi) the core functions defined in Minn. Stat. § 148F.01, subdivision 10:

    Subd. 10. Core functions. "Core functions" means the following services provided in alcohol and drug treatment:

    (1) "screening" means the process by which a client is determined appropriate and eligible for admission to a particular program;

    (2) "intake" means the administrative and initial assessment procedures for admission to a program;

    (3) "orientation" means describing to the client the general nature and goals of the program; rules governing client conduct and infractions that can lead to disciplinary action or discharge from the program; in a nonresidential program, the hours during which services are available; treatment costs to be borne by the client, if any; and client's rights;

    (4) "assessment" means those procedures by which a counselor identifies and evaluates an individual's strengths, weaknesses, problems, and needs to develop a treatment plan or make recommendations for level of care placement;

    (5) "treatment planning" means the process by which the counselor and the client identify and rank problems needing resolution; establish agreed upon immediate and long-term goals; and decide on a treatment process and the sources to be utilized;

    (6) "counseling" means the utilization of special skills to assist individuals, families, or groups in achieving objectives through exploration of a problem and its ramifications; examination of attitudes and feelings; consideration of alternative solutions; and decision making;

    (7) "case management" means activities that bring services, agencies, resources, or people together within a planned framework of action toward the achievement of established goals;

    (8) "crisis intervention" means those services which respond to an alcohol or other drug user's needs during acute emotional or physical distress;

    (9) "client education" means the provision of information to clients who are receiving or seeking counseling concerning alcohol and other drug abuse and the available services and resources;
     
    (10) "referral" means identifying the needs of the client which cannot be met by the counselor or agency and assisting the client to utilize the support systems and available community resources;

    (11) "reports and record keeping" means charting the results of the assessment and treatment plan and writing reports, progress notes, discharge summaries, and other client-related data; and

    (12) "consultation with other professionals regarding client treatment and services" means communicating with other professionals in regard to client treatment and services to assure comprehensive, quality care for the client.

    See: LADC Requirements and Application, LADC /Temporary Permit Misc Forms, LADC Renewal


Fee:

(1) Initial license application fee - $295. A $99 surcharge will be added to the initial application fee until June 30, 2013.

(2) Biennial renewal fee - $295. A $99 surcharge will be added to the initial application fee until June 30, 2013. The renewal fee may be prorated. 

(3) Inactive renewal fee - $150. A $99 surcharge will be added to the initial application fee until June 30, 2013.

(4) Late fee - $74. The LADC inactive late fee - $37. The temporary permit late fee - $37. 

(5) Surcharge fee. Notwithstanding Minn. Stat. § 16A.1285, subdivision 2, a surcharge of $99 shall be paid at the time of initial application for or renewal of an alcohol and drug counselor license until June 30, 2013.

(6) Initial temporary permit application fee is $100.

(7) Renewal fee for temporary permit - $150.

(8) Fee to renew after expiration of the LADC license. The fee for renewal of a LADC license that has expired for less than two years is the total of the biennial renewal fee and the late fee. 

(9) Fee for license verification. The fee for license verification to institutions and other jurisdictions is $25.

(10) Sponsor application fee. The fee for sponsor application for approval of a continuing education course is $60.

(11) Order or Stipulation fee. The fee for a copy of a board order or stipulation is $10.

(12) Duplicate certificate fee. The fee for a duplicate certificate is $25.
 
(13) Supervisor application processing fee. The fee for licensure supervisor application processing is $30.


Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

Biannual.