Kennel License (Dogs and Cats)
Agency contact information:
Animal Health, Minnesota Board of
625 Robert Street North
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-2942 | (800) 627-3529 (TTY)
The Minnesota Board of Animal Health's responsibilities include protecting the health of domestic animals of the state, regulating and inspecting many aspects of the livestock and poultry industries. Licensing of cat and dog kennels and kennel .
Minn. Stats. 347
Application for Kennel License
Program of Veterinary Care
A kennel, as defined by statute, covers only those units that pick up, confine, or advertise for lost, unwanted, stray, abandoned, or stolen dogs and cats. This includes humane societies and pounds not owned/operated by any political subdivision of the state.
The state does not license boarding, breeding, grooming, or pet sitting operations.
Completed application, program of veterinary care, and fee. Satisfactory inspection report on file.
The veterinarian must visit the facility as often as necessary to supervise the program, with a minimum of an annual visit.
Inspection not required at time of renewal. Regular inspections are conducted after first license is issued.
Refer to the Dog and Cat Kennels Licenses information on the Board's website.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Annual, January 1 - December 31
Length of Determination Process:
Within 10-15 days of receiving approved inspection report or renewal application.
Other Pertinent Information:
See Minn. Stat. § 347.31-.40.