Agency contact information:
Commerce, Minnesota Department of
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 539-1599 | (800) 657-3978 (MN only, outside Metro area)
(651) 539-0107 (fax)
Contact Info: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
Minn. Stats. 60K
MINNESOTA RULE 2795.0100
Apply online at Vertafore (formerly Sircon), select Apply for a License.
Applications for insurance agents should be submitted online through the MN Dept. of Commerce online partner, Vertafore (formerly Sircon).
License requirements are located on the MN Dept. of Commerce, Insurance Division at Producers & Adjusters.
Life fee - $50
Accident/Health fee - $50
Property fee - $50
Casualty fee - $50
Personal Lines license issued to an individual insurance producer fee - $50
Limited Lines license issued to an individual insurance producer fee - $50
Credit fee - $50
Mobile Telephone fee - $50
Travel Baggage fee - $50
Title fee - $50
Bail Bond fee - $50
Farm property & liability - $50
Initial license issued to a business entity - $200
Surplus line endorsements are an additional $500.
Variable Life and Variable Annuities issued to an individual - $50.
Technology surcharge (individual producers only) - $30 per initial license and renewal.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Two years, expires October 31st (business entity), last day of birth month (individuals).
Length of Determination Process: