License Minnesota

Household Goods Mover Permit

Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT)

Agency contact information:

Transportation (MnDOT), Minnesota Department of
395 John Ireland Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155-1899
(800) 657-3774 | (800) 627-3529
Office of Freight and Commercial Vehicle Operations (OFCVO) -395 John Ireland Blvd., M.S. 420, Room 153, St. Paul, MN 55155-1899
(651) 366-3674 | (651) 366-3680
Contact Info: motorcarrier @dot.state.mn.us

Website:

Commercial Vehicle Operations (CVO) Online


Social Media Links


The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) provides a balanced transportation system. Responsible areas include aeronautics, highways, motor carriers, ports, public transit, railroads and pipelines.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 221

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 7800., 7805., 8855.

Forms:

Credential Authorization Application 

Vehicle Registration Application

Applications and forms are available on the MN Dept. of Transportation (MnDOT) website, Commercial Vehicle Operations (CVO) section at Applications and Forms: Commercial Vehicle Operations.

Requirements:

File an MCS-150

Insurance filing (Form E)

Cargo insurance (Form H)

Tariff

Cab card

Register with the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State

Attend an Initial Motor Carrier Contact Seminar within 90 days. 


Fact sheets are available on the MnDOT website, Commercial Vehicle Operations (CVO) Online, Fact Sheets section.


Fee:

Filing fee - $150

Per vehicle cab card fee - $75

Period of Issuance:

Permanent, subject to maintenance of insurance filing and annual vehicle registration.

Length of Determination Process:

Minimum of six weeks.

Other Pertinent Information:

Subject to Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.