Home Care and Hospice
Agency contact information:
Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
(651) 201-5000 | (888) 345-0823 (MN toll free)
Compliance Monitoring Division
Licensing and Certification Program
P.O. Box 64900, 85 East 7th Place, Ste. 220, St. Paul, MN 55164-0900 | (651) 201-4101
Contact Info: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) operates programs for disease prevention and control, health promotion, family and community health, environmental health, health care policy, and regulation of health care providers and facilities.
Application to operate a "Class A" professional agency, application to operate a "Class B" paraprofessional agency, application to operate a "Class C" individual paraprofessional license, application to operate a "Class F" assisted living services to residents of residential center, application to operate Assisted Living Home Care Provider (ALHCP) license to provide assisted living home care services solely for residents of one or more registered housing with services establishments, application to operate a hospice.
*Effective 1/1/07: "Class E" will not exist and assisted living home care will become "Class F".
Application forms and documents are available on the MN Dept. of Health website, MN Health Care Facilities Programs, Compliance Monitoring section at Licensure Application Forms, Federal Certification, and Information for Health Care Providers and at Hospice Licensure.
During the 2013 Session, the Legislature passed new law that changes the way MDH licenses home care providers (see July 2013 Notice: Important notice to MDH licensed home care providers). The current “Classes” of licenses (i.e. Class A,B,C,F) will be replaced by two types of home care licenses: either Basic or Comprehensive. While new home care licensees will begin to comply with the new law beginning January 1, 2014, there will be a transition period for existing providers.
Refer to Home Care Licensing Changes FAQs
A home care provider is any entity that regularly engages in the delivery of home care services for a fee.
At least one home care service must be provided directly, although additional home care services may be provided by contractual arrangements.
A home care provider must have a current license to operate in the state.
A hospice is any entity that is regularly engaged in the delivery of services for a fee to terminally ill hospice patients.
Refer to the MN Dept. of Health publications, A Guide to Home Care Services and A Guide to Hospice Care Services.
See Hospice Licensure.
Fees are based on revenue derived from the provision of home care services during the previous calendar year for all but assisted living home care providers.
Fees for assisted living home care providers are based on the monthly average number of clients served.
Hospice fees are based on revenues for the previous fiscal year.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
License is effective for one year from effective date.
Length of Determination Process:
The MN Department of Health has 90 days in which to grant or deny a license.
Other Pertinent Information:
Licenses are renewed on an annual basis. Licenses are not transferable.