License Minnesota

Food, Beverage and Lodging (FBL) License

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) licenses food, beverage or lodging establishments (FBL) in Minnesota. If a local jurisdiction (city/county) has entered into a delegation agreement with MDH, FBL licenses are issued through the local jurisdiction.

Agency contact information:

Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
(651) 201-5000 | (888) 345-0823 (MN toll free)
Environmental Health Division
Food, Pools, and Lodging Services Section
625 N. Robert St., St. Paul, MN 55155-2538 | (651) 201-4500
Contact Info: health.foodlodging@state.mn.us

Website:

Food, Beverage and Lodging Establishments (FBL) License Information

Lodging


Photobucket Photobucket

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) operates programs for disease prevention and control, health promotion, family and community health, environmental health, health care policy, and regulation of health care providers and facilities.

Statutes:

Minn. Stats. 157.16

Rules:

MINNESOTA RULES 4626.

Forms:

Plan Review Application
Food, Beverage and Lodging License Application

Application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Health (MDH) website, Food, Beverage and Lodging Establishments (FBL) section at

Plan Review Application: Food, Beverage and Lodging Establishments - New Construction

Plan Review Application: Temporary Food Establishments
(Mobile Food Unit, Seasonal Permanent Food Stand, Seasonal Temporary Food Stand, Food Cart)

Requirements:

Food Licensing

The first step is to determine whether your license will be issued by MDH or by your local jurisdiction.

Licensing by MDH 
Procedure for licensing all establishments with the exception of the Special Licensing categories. 

Local Licensing: Delegated Program
 
If a local jurisdiction (city, county) has entered into a delegation agreement with MDH, FBL licenses are issued through the local jurisdiction.

Licensing Jurisdiction


Special Licensing Information / Fact Sheets

Bed and Breakfast Operations - New Business Information

A “Bed and Breakfast” operation, in the jurisdiction of the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH), requires a hotel/motel license and a restaurant license.  


Food Cart Licensing and Plan Review and Fact Sheet

food cart is a food and beverage service establishment that is a nonmotorized vehicle self-propelled by the operator. All food carts must be operated in compliance with the Minnesota Food Code. 

Mobile Food Unit Plan Review and Fact Sheet

mobile food unit is a food and beverage service establishment that is a vehicle mounted unit, either motorized or trailered, and readily movable, without disassembling, for transport to another location. The unit can operate no more than 21 days annually at any one place unless it is operated at the site of and in conjunction with a permanent business licensed under Minn. Stats.§ § 157 or 28A. All mobile food units must be operated in compliance with the Minnesota Food Code.   


Seasonal Permanent Food Stands Plan Review and Fact Sheet

seasonal permanent food stand is a food and beverage service establishment which is a permanent food service stand or building, but which operates no more than 21 days annually. All food stands must be operated in compliance with the Minnesota Food Code.  


Special Event Food Stand and Fact Sheet

special event food stand is a food and beverage service establishment which is used in conjunction with celebrations and special events, and which operates no more than three times annually for no more than ten total days. All stands must be operated in compliance with the Minnesota Food Code.   


Seasonal Temporary Food Stand and Fact Sheet

seasonal temporary food stand  is a food and beverage service establishment which is a temporary food service stand or building, but which operates no more than 21 days (schools are exempt from the 21 day limit)at any one location. All food stands must be operated in compliance with the Minnesota Food Code.


Food Catering Requirements


School Concession Stands - Licensing    School Concession Stands - Operations

Regardless of menu, structure, sponsorship or days of operation, any food service or concession on school grounds is required to be licensed, inspected and compliant with the Minnesota Food Code. 


The State of Minnesota requires a Minnesota Certified Food Manager in most food establishments. Food manager certification is administered by the Minnesota Department of Health.

See Food Manager Certification 

Types of food establishments required to have a Certified Food Manager

Duties of a certified food manager 

_______________________________________________________________

In-store Delis, Grocery Stores, Butcher Stores, Bakeries, Convenience Stores

For information about starting an in-store deli, grocery store, butcher store, bakery or convenience store, review the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA), Dairy & Food Inspection Division publication titled "Starting a Food Business in Minnesota" and the MDA information, Plan Review - Retail Establishment.


Lodging

Lodging establishments meeting the following definitions must be licensed in Minnesota.

  • Lodging establishment means a building, structure, enclosure, or any part thereof used as, maintained as, advertised as, or held out to be a place where sleeping accommodations are furnished to the public as regular roomers, for periods of one week or more, and having five or more beds to let to the public.
  • Hotel or Motel means a building, structure, enclosure, or any part thereof used as, maintained as, advertised as, or held out to be a place where sleeping accommodations are furnished to the public and furnishing accommodations for periods of less than one week.
  • Resort means a building, structure, enclosure, or any part thereof located on, or on property neighboring, any lake, stream, skiing or hunting area, or any recreational area for purposes of providing convenient access thereto, kept, used, maintained, or advertised as, or held out to the public to be a place where sleeping accommodations are furnished to the public, and primarily to those seeking recreation for periods of one day, one week, or longer, and having for rent five or more cottages, rooms, or enclosures.
  • Boarding establishment means a food and beverage service establishment where food or beverages, or both are furnished to five or more accommodations, for periods of one week or more.
  • Bed & Breakfast are owner occupied establishments which offer lodging and breakfast, without a limitation on the number of rooms offered. If breakfast is offered to more than 10 persons, a commercial kitchen is required. 

Care Facilities are regulated by our Health Policy, Information & Compliance Monitoring Division within MDH. Visit the following link for more information: Minnesota Health Care Facilities Programs


Lodging License Type Number of Units Duration of Stay Additional Licenses Which May be Needed
Bed & Breakfast 1 or more 1 night or longer Food (see: Bed and Breakfast Operations)
Resort 5 or more 1 night or more Food and Beverage (see: FBL Food Business Licensing ) 
Swimming Pool-Spa Pool (see: Public Swimming Pools)
Lodging 5 or more One week or more A Special Services Registration may be required (see: Boarding and Lodging with Special Services)
Boarding Establishment 5 or more One week or more Food (see: FBL Food Business Licensing)
Hotel/Motel 1 or more One day or longer Food (see: FBL Food Business Licensing
Swimming Pool-Spa Pool (see: Public Swimming Pools)
Vacation Home Rentals 1 or more One day or longer Review Explore Minnesota: Vacation Home Rental for more information. A hotel/motel license may be required.

 

The Minnesota Department of Health does not license apartments. Such licensing and inspections falls under the requirements of local government. However, if food is provided, a boarding license may be required.

Steps for licensing a new establishment:

1. The owner submits a Plan Review Application and required fee to Minnesota Dept. of Health (MDH) to begin the licensing process. - See the Plan Review Application for more details in regards to plan requirements. 
2. MDH reviews the Plan Review. MDH sends a license application at the time the plan review application is approved. 
3. The owner completes and submits the license application and all fees. 
MDH schedules a final pre-opening inspection. At the inspection, if all requirements are met, applicant will be given approval to open and start operating establishment. 


Change of ownership on existing business procedures: 

If taking over an existing business and nothing else will change, contact MDH to obtain a license application at (651) 201-4505. An environmental health specialist will determine fees required and give final approval if in compliance with all other requirements. A business cannot start operation until application and fees are submitted and approval is granted.


Related information  

Plumbing Plan Review (MN DLI) | Public Swimming Pools

Fee:

Fee Schedule: Fees are based on different establishment categories.

Food

Limited Food - $60
Small Establishment - $120
Medium Establishment - $310
Large Establishment - $540
Additional Food - $150
Special Event Food-No Base Fee Food - $50
Small Menu Bed & Breakfast - $120
Small Menu Boarding - $120
Additional Inspection Schools - $360


Alcohol

Only one highest applicable category:
Beer or wine table services - $60
Alcohol Service from bar - $165
Other Inspections $360
Special event license fee - $40 for up to 3 events for a total of 10 days annually.


Mobile Food Unit

Base Fee - $150
Food Cart - $60
Mobile Food Unit - $60
Seasonal Permanent - $60
Seasonal Temporary - $60
Special Event - $40 (Special events do not pay the $150 base fee, but they do pay the hospitality fee of $35)


Lodging

Base Fee - $150
Hotel/Motel -per units - $10
Lodging -per unit - $10
Resort -per unit - $10
Maximum Lodging Fee - $1,000


FBL Licensed Pools

Base Fee for Stand Alone Pools - $150
Public Swimming Pool - $325
Each Additional Swimming Pools -$175
Spa Pool - $175
Each Additional Spa Pool - $100


Other Administrative Fees

MFU (Mobile Food Unit) Seasonal Stand Late Fee - $60
Late Fee All FBL up to 30 days - $120
Late Fee All other FBL more than 30 days - $360


Universal Fees

Statewide Hospitality Fee - $35


Plan Review Fees- New Construction

New Construction Plan Review - $350


New Food
 
Limited Food Menu - $275
Small Establishment - $400
Large Establishment - $500
Additional Food Service - $150


New Transient Food Service

Food Cart - $250
Seasonal Permanent Food Stand - $250
Seasonal Temporary Food Stand - $250
Mobile Food Unit- $350


New Alcohol 

Beer or Wine Table Service - $150
Alcohol Service from Bar - $250


New Lodging

Less Than 25 Rooms- $375
25 to Less Than 100 Rooms- $400
100 Rooms or More - $500
Less Than 5 Cabins- $350
5 to Less Than 10 Cabins - $400
10 Cabins or More - $450
 

MHP/RCE/SEC Initial Plan Review

Less Than 25 Sites - $375
25 to Less Than 100 Sites - $400
100 or More Sites - $500


Plan Review Fees -Remodels

Remodel Plan Review - $250


Remodel Food  
 
Limited Food Menu - $250
Small Establishment - $300
Medium Establishment - $350
Large Establishment - $400
Additional Food Service - $150

Remodel Transient Food Service

Food Cart - $250
Seasonal Permanent Food Stand - $250
Seasonal Temporary Food Stand - $250
Mobile Food Unit- $250


Remodel Alcohol
 
Beer or Wine Table Service - $150
Alcohol Service from Bar - $250


Remodel Lodging

Less Than 25 Rooms- $250
25 to Less Than 100 Rooms- $300
100 Rooms or More - $450
Less Than 5 Cabins- $250
5 to Less Than 10 Cabins - $350
10 Cabins or More - $450

MHP/RCE/SEC Initial Plan Review

Less Than 25 Sites - $250
25 to Less Than 100 Sites - $300
100 or More Sites - $450


Public Pool Plan Review-Small Projects <$250,000

New Pool Construction - $1,500
Alterations - $600
Spa Pools - $800

Public Pool Plan Review-Large Projects >$250,000

All Projects (.5% of estimated value with cap) - $15,000


Public Pool Other Plan Review

Disinfection System Change - $100
Slides for Small Project or Alteration - $600


Licensing surcharge to be assessed

The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.

Period of Issuance:

January 1st through December 31st.

Length of Determination Process:

Initial Licenses are issued after inspection has been completed and approved by this office. Renewals are issued approximately two weeks from submitting them to MDH.

Other Pertinent Information: