Employment Agency License for Operation
Agency contact information:
Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 284-5005 | (800) 342-5354 | (651) 297-4198 (TTY)
Labor Standards Division
Contact Info: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) oversees the state's apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards and workers' compensation programs and the Office of Combative Sports.
Minn. Stats. 184.22
Application for Employment Agency License
Notarized agency application.
Notarized bond application.
Evidence of workers' compensation.
May also require information specific to corporation (if applicant is a corporation); separate application and bond, if more than one agency location.
Agency license - $250 per year
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination Process:
Other Pertinent Information:
Those agencies formerly registered as Search Firms should review with legal counsel employment agency licensure requirements.
Must take an exam to get license ($20 exam fee) and pay $20 license fee for each manager or counselor.
There is a $10 renewal fee annually for each manager or counselor.