Electrical Contractor Class A
Agency contact information:
Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 284-5005 | (800) 342-5354 | (651) 297-4198 (TTY)
Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD)
Licensing and Certification Services
Contact Info: Licensing and Certification Services
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) oversees the state's apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards and workers' compensation programs and the Office of Combative Sports.
Minn. Stats. 326.242
Application for Electrical Contractor's License, EB-00033-20
Electrical Contractor's Bond, EB-00034-07
Certificate of Insurance, EB-00126-08
Minnesota State Identification Information Form, EB-00129-07
Certificate of Master Electrician, EB-00036-07
Application and renewal forms are available on the MN Dept. of Labor and Industry (DLI) website, Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD) section at Contractor (business) electrical and elevator licensing and Surety bond forms.
An applicant for a Class A Electrical Contractor License must either be licensed as a Class A Master Electrician or employ a person licensed as a Class A Master Electrician.
Additionally, a $5,000 bond must be given and maintained to the state as well as general liability insurance with minimal limits of $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate limit for bodily injury, and property damage insurance with a minimal limit of $25,000 or a policy with a single limit for bodily injury and property damage of $300,000 per occurrence and $300,000 aggregate.
Evidence of compliance with general business and employment law must also be provided.
E-Licensing surcharge is in effect for fee schedules.
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology (OET) sponsored and the Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to OET, which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
Two years, expiring on the last day of February of even-numbered years.
Length of Determination Process:
Variable, dependent on completed application and whether application is submitted in person or by mail. Applications are accepted over-the-counter and if the application is complete and all conditions of licensure are met, the license may be issued immediately.