Drug / Medical Gas Wholesaler License
Agency contact information:
The Minnesota Board of Pharmacy enforces rules dealing with drug distribution by drug manufacturers, wholesalers, pharmacies, physicians, dentists, and other practitioners. The board issues all licenses dealing with pharmacists and pharmacies. The board administers the states controlled substance prescription monitoring program.
Application for Registration as a Drug and/or Medical Gas Wholesaler
Applications are available on the Board website at Drug Wholesaler.
Please see Minn. Stat. § 151.42-.51 and Board Rules for details.
Prescription Drugs - $200 + $20 OET surcharge = $220 total
Prescription & Non-Prescription - $200 + $20 OET surcharge = $220 total
Non-Prescription only and/or Veterinary Drugs - $175 + $17.50 OET surcharge = $192.50 total
Medical Gases - $150 + $15 OET surcharge = $165 total
Fee if also licensed as a pharmacy in Minnesota - $125 + $12.50 OET surcharge = $137.50 total
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.
Period of Issuance:
June 1 - May 31 annually.
Length of Determination Process:
Approximately 60 days.
Other Pertinent Information:
Licensure will not be granted for a private residence.
On-site inspections of facilities located within the state of Minnesota are required before license will be issued.