Driver Education Program
Agency contact information:
Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
445 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 201-7000 | (651) 282-6555 (TTY)
Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)
445 Minnesota St., Suite 190, St. Paul, MN 55101-5190 | Driver Services (651) 297-3298 | Vehicle Services (651) 297-2126
Driver Educator Office
(651) 296-5316 (fax)
Contact Info: Don Hoechst, Driver Education Coordinator
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Driver Education Program Approval Application (PS36010)
Driver Training Instructors License Application (PS36008)
Home School Driver Educator Materials
Application forms are available on the MN Dept. of Public Safety website, Driver and Vehicle Services section at Driver Educator Forms.
Driver Education Curriculum
Permanent Rules Governing Curriculum for Driver Education Programs
Adopted Exempt Rules Governing Curriculum for Driver Education Programs
$150 + $15 surcharge fee
Licensing surcharge to be assessed
The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to MN.IT Services (formerly Office of Enterprise Technology (OET)), which is establishing an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Minn. Stat. § 16E.22.